Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 82663
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Great Barrier Island
All Year: No
Area (ha): 25
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 82663
Region: Great Barrier Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 29, 2018

We are a couple, living in a house on top of a cliff on Great Barrier Island. We run 4 businesses between us, and we love spending time surfing as well. That's why we often don't spend enough time around the house, doing gardening, washing windows, scrubbing decks, etc. And that's where you come in. We would love some help with with getting/keeping our garden in order, and our place looking ship shape. So there's weeding, mulching, scrubbing decks and washing windows and house cleaning to be done.

We are easy going, but will be expecting 4 hours of help a day in the morning. You can also do an 8 hour day and have a whole day off, or do 2 six hour days and have a day off, and apart from helping with the meals, your day of arrival and day of departure are off, too. In exchange you'll have a wonderful room with it's own bathroom and sea views, extensive decks and a swimming pool. We will provide food, but expect you to take turns with the cooking/dishes and cannot cater for special dietary requirements.

We live very isolated, 8km outside of Tryphena, on Great Barrier Island. You are expected to make your own way to the island, either by Sealink ferry or plane and we will be providing opportunities to go for walks to go surfing or to laze by the on site pool once the work is done. When you want to go to Tryphena on your day off, rides will often be with Roger, who leaves to go to work at 8am. We go to bed fairly early between 9 and 10pm and get up early, between 630 and 7am, too. You'll be expected to keep a similar schedule, as we run on alternative power, we have solar panels, and live with natural light as much as possible. We have wifi for checking e-mail etc, not for watching movies, and vodafone and spark cover is available.

Ideally, we'd like you to come and stay with us for 5-7 days, and we like you to come in pairs, so that you have someone to talk to while doing jobs and/or if we are busy, unless you are happy in your own company. This place is isolated. Lots of books available, though, mainly in English, Dutch and German.

Apart from English, we speak Dutch, German, Schwyzerduetch and rusty French and Spanish.

We want to give you an honest idea of what you can expect from us and what we expect from you. If you still think you may like to stay with us, you are very welcome. :-)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use