help exchange   Host 8340
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8340
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 6, 2019

**** Please note that we are don't have any availability between now and mid May 2020 ******

We have an old farmhouse about 1.5 hours from Philadelphia, in the southeast corner of Pennsylvania - please note that map just shows our general location. Our minimum stay is usually a week, however we do occasionally welcome helpers for a day or a weekend for the sort of projects where many hands make light work. And people who have helpxed with us before are always welcome to return - there is always a place for you to stay if you are passing through our area and if you want to stay longer that's great too. We do occasionally host helpers with canine companions, however we do have a cat, so this only works with cat-friendly dogs. We do expect doggie helpers to be on groundhog and deer patrol!

Jeff has a background in land preservation, and in his spare time is a photographer, plays guitar, volunteers for a new farmer development program and for our local environmental advisory council, and loves to forage for wild edibles. Nitya has travelled a lot, loves working with plants and animals, building things, cooking and learning new things (currently learning French). We both enjoy travelling and hosting travellers, and outdoor activities like hiking, cycling and cross-country skiing.

We are currently focusing on restoring farm buildings and our house so folks with renovation experience and skills are particularly welcome. We are very interested in alternative energy and green building, so try and incorporate these principles into our projects. Another main project focus is landscape restoration with native plants to create bird and pollinator-friendly habitat and to combat and replace invasive plant species and we spend quite a bit of time working outside taking care of our land - cleaning up fallen trees for firewood, removing invasive plants, planting natives etc. We also have a small veggie garden for our own use.

Helpxers usually help out for around 20hrs/wk - timing is flexible if there are things that you want to do locally. Sorry, but nightowls who sleep late don't fit into our household routine so if you are a late sleeper, this is not the place for you. Weekends are usually quiet and are a good time to take some time to explore, take a trip to Philly or NYC etc. There are also opportunities to visit other farms in the area, and there may also be workshops and field days in this region that may be of interest. There may also be opportunities for part-time/casual work in the area.

We usually have space for folks with a tent or camper (when the weather is warm enough for camping), and our guest room may also be available depending on time of year and who else is staying here. Our guest room is small, so while we can accommodate an individual or couple, we can generally only host families of more than two people who have their own accommodation (tent, camper etc).

There is public transport to Allentown from NY City, or to Quakertown from Philadelphia, and we can pick someone up from Allentown or Quakertown.

We are in a very out-of-the-way, peaceful location and yet only a 10 minute drive to local towns and highways. There are lots of quiet country roads for walking and cycling and we are surrounded by woods with lots of wildlife and birds, and we have a very active arts and music community in the area. Lancaster county, Hawk Mountain, the Poconos and the Delaware River are all easy day trips from here. We enjoy taking advantage of these great resources and you are welcome to join us, or to explore on your own depending on what you prefer.

If you have allergy issues, please note that we do have cats in the house, and there are certain times of the year when pollen and other seasonal factors may affect you.

We are omnivores but can easily accommodate lacto-ovo vegetarians if you don't mind cooking your own meal when we are eating a meat-based meal. When you contact us, please be sure to include a some information about yourself - what your interests are, previous farm experience, relevant skills, what you hope to learn etc. Thanks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use