Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 8347
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Clair
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8347
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 12, 2012

We are an English couple who moved to France 4 years ago because we wanted a different lifestyle to bring up our young children. Our house is still being renovated and therefore is not the smartest place, with building materials all over the place and half started projects surrounding us. We have just less than 2 hectares which comprises the house, orchard area, vegetable garden, fields and lake. Much of this is overgrown and we are gradually clearly, replanting and developing. Please note, we live in a small village, with no amenities close by.

Although we were both experienced with renovating houses in the UK we didnít anticipate how much having children would impact on our ability to get things done and have therefore not moved forward as fast as we expected.

We are smokers, although not in the house and we eat mostly meat orientated meals although are happy to try vegetarian meals occasionally.

The work
The main jobs we need help with this summer are the routine garedn work, mowing the lawns, weeding the vegetable patch, chopping wood and feeding the animals etc. Also, John may need help in the house where he is renovating a new bedroom, a new bathroom and the hallway, so there is a number of different jobs available to suit!

What we expect
We would like to ask people here provisionally for one week, although this can be extended assuming we are all in agreement. We would like you to work 25 hours a week and although you will be welcome to join in family meals you are not expected to. We would also expect you to clean up after yourselves.

We have a couple of rooms in the house, or plenty of space for tents or camper vans. If you are in the house we will provide you with linen and towels. We also have internet available, washing machine and free phone calls to landlines in most countries.

If, after all this information, you still want to stay with us, that is wonderful and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Lucy and John

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use