help exchange   Host 8448
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8448
Country: Austria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 26, 2020

To be close to the land and to nature

We are Kathi, Johannes and the children Mia (*2006), Romi (*2009), David Laurin (*2012) and Enja (*2019), a family that works a farm for their own requirements. Kathi grew up on the farm that is registered as an organic farm for more than 30 years now. We have got Krainer Stein sheep, goats, chickens, cats, a dog and two horses that roam about 5 hectares of grassland and forest. We grow vegetables on raised beds and a field in mixed culture. All year round we harvest fruits from the mixed orchards and berry gardens. In winter we fell trees to gain wood for heating. We prefer working by hand, but use our small old tractor if necessary. There are always new projects, like constructing fences, rain water systems, hill beds and so on.
Besides the work on the farm and with the children we play music and make handicrafts like felt products and children clothes or just sit around the bonfire and enjoy a warm summer night.

We are looking for volunteers that enjoy working together and learning from each other. We prefer non smokers. There is work in the garden, stable, forest and house.

We would like to host native English speakers that enjoy spending time with the children and teaching them English by playing, reading and talking together.

NEWS 1.9.2015: Kathi`s brother Thomas, Judith and Klara (*2014) moved in the neighbouring farm. There is a lot of renovation and outside work now. We meet at the big table in our house for lunch and there are often many people putting their hands on!

We offer fast Internet connection and mostly vegetarian kitchen! Accommodation options include a guest room or a tent depending on season and availability.

We speak German, Hebrew, English and a little Spanish.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use