help exchange   Host 84806
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Zalaszanto
All Year: from april till oktober
Area (ha): 1,3
Persons: 1-2 or small family
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 84806
Country: Hungary

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 12, 2019

On the southern side of the grapehill of Zalaszántó we found this lovely spot, a bit bigger than one hectar.
Three years ago we started our clean up action to remake it to a simple liveable space.
When our project got some structure, the first organic vegetable could be grown and harvested.
In the mean time the building of the pumphouse started, a ruine became a space for an outer shower, a compost toilet and waterpumpinstallation.

Last spring the foundation for our strawbale house was dug and made. The woodstructure for the outerwalls was erected. You can see on the photos.

We cultivate our organic garden for our family, friends, this year also for volunteers.

Who are we?
We are a mixte hungarian-flemish-belgian couple with our 3 and a bit old little son.
Geert (57) takes care for the building projects, he is experienced in building, mechanics and organic gardening.
Judit (37) takes the garden unther her wings and a lot of the unseen daily works.

We met in an eco village in Hungary, where we were volunteering together on a strawbale building side.
Our goal is to live in a simple, close to nature way.
Giving opportunity to others to express their abilities on a playful way.
We speak hungarian, dutch, flemish, french, german and english.

Works, doings, activities:

Put the rooftiles on the strawbale building,
work with strawbales, cut them, push them in the wall. That is the main activity, where we welcome helping hands.

Cover the walls with mixtures of straw and clay. Make mudbricks for inner walls.

Garden: clean up bushes, collect woods, plant hedges, make the compost area, built a burning wood shed, built garden walls and vegetable garden (depending on the season)

Barn: empty and clean the top floor, repair the wooden floor and the roof, empty the bottom floor,
clean up.

Ruined chicken house: clean up, built little house for the chickens and fence it, if time left after the strawbale house is prepared for a winterstay.

Old, bit ruined house to renovate (roof, walls)

The nextbuilding, where the compost toilet, shower, washing machine and waterpump comes: to finish (finish the rooftiles to put and the walls, make insulation for waterpump, create and put doors, make the shower useable).

Dig the tranches for elektricity, water, rainwater and greywater.


Becouse the water comes from our well and we have electricity but not finished house at the moment, we can offer a place to put your tent or have a small space to sleep in our folding caravan tent, where in one part is our kitchen installed. The area is not fenced (except the vegetable garden) and the situation is a bit nomadic (except, that we have electricity), so you can make an unique experience in the nature.

We have compost toilet to use in the nextbuilding. An outer shower still needs to be installed. Until its not done, you can take a shower in our caravan.

There is internet for checking your mails and a bit more.
We can take you by car from a near bus or trainstation.

We work a lot this period, that we can move in our house before wintertime, so for your free time we can recommend you things to do in the surrounding, if you wish, less go with you.

Its good, if you have some experience, skills in building and you are interested in technical activities.

We would like volunteers to work with us weekly 25 hours (if you feel it can be more) and we expect a minimum stay of a week. We offer for you to put your tent or sleep in our folding caravan (on the photo) and breakfast, lunch, dinner (the days, when you work). We like to eat meat, but not every day. Vegis comes seasonally from the
garden, what we can grow. There are cherry, sourcherry, apricot, apple trees.

In your free time there is a lots of possibilities to hiking, go to bath in Hévíz or swim in Balaton, make cultural trips, meet people in the surrounding.

Its pritty quiet here, no lights ont he hill, so take your headlamp with you.

If you have any question ask simply, i will do my best to answer.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use