Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 8506
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Whangarei
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 235
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8506
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 7, 2018

We are a family of four (including two boys aged 6 & 8), living on our family farm, situated on the south side of the Whangarei Harbour. The farm has been in the family for at least 140 years. We currently farm sheep and cattle, along with two alpacas, four ducks and some hens! We are not organic but are starting to practise biological / regenerative farming methods. We have plans to diversify, which include building a harbourside walkway, replanting an old orchard with citrus and subtropical fruit, improving our olive grove and planting some more land in NZ natives. We are currently working on some farm-stay accommodation and are continuing with our traditional farm activities, including seasonal jobs such as shearing sheep and haymaking. We are also working on adding value to our coarse wool, by making rugs and other products.

Work depends on time of year, but includes gardening and weeding, general farm work, sometimes building maintenance eg painting, tree planting and possibly general house work such as window cleaning. We would expect 4-5 hours work in the morning, in return for food and accommodation, which is a room in our house.

Coming up is some fencing, some tree work and finishing off our accommodation.

Thanks very much.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use