Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 8516
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 150
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8516
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 24, 2017


I am a mature owner of several businesses and properties and I need a hand.

I ran a large Horse Trail ride venture for over 16 years but now I want to downsize my work load and run a smaller operation. I need a helper to help me with my horses plus my properties where I have cattle and my many dogs and chickens. Plus help training and riding some of my younger horses.
So I am looking for helpers that have experience with all of the above. If no experience, someone that wants to learn. But you must love all animals.
But what is mandatory is someone that loves the bush, that doesn't need to be entertained, someone that is clean and tidy and doesn't mind helping in the house and doing their dishes. And I need a clean and sober and drug free helper and someone that does a honest hard few hours work every day.
Cooktown is full of pubs and clubs and restaurants that are always looking for casual workers. You can seek evening employment if you want to. There is no shortage of employment in this town. Especially if you have a RSA.
We are 4 hours by car via an excellent fully sealed Mulligan Highway - North of Cairns. A daily bus service runs between Cairns and Cooktown. I pick up from the Cooktown bus stop or Airport. (But occassionally I am in Cairns..)
We are only minutes away from the pristine coast with beaches and the town house is minutes walk to Cooktown's Charlotte Street which boasts good fishing at the wharf, friendly pubs and clubs, a Post Office and other interesting shops, sights, museums and colourful locals. The town house is only 2 doors away from the library, the supermarket and only around the corner from historic pubs and where I have free wifi.
You could live out at the farm a few days and nights a week. Sometimes when mustering it could be for longer,
which is real tropical bush accommodation - solar power and cooking on a wood fired oven, no TV, no wifi, no phones just peace, beautiful rainforest, lots of native critters and the only entertainment at night is having a hot or cold drink around an open fire.
And /or you will spend some nights in the town cottage with TV, wifi and proper mobile reception.
I move between the two properties.
You must tell me what you can and cannot eat.
The best way to contact me is by email.
I have a Facebook page for the Trail Rides. It's under hidden valley trail rides. Heaps of info and photos of the countryside and my horses.
My website is

If you are curious about the below photos - they are
- My newest foal, Lola,
My lead horse, Harley, and I,
An old photo of my riding school 'Saddle Kids' and I.
Trail riding to the beach and pub,
Bush trail ride.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use