Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 85357
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Yambol Province
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2000sqm
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85357
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2019

Hi my name is Sonia, I'm in my 50's, English and have lived in Bulgaria for just over 2 years. I am restoring an old Bulgarian house and would like to keep it traditional as possible with my renovations. I've never done anything like this before so I am learning lots as I go along.......I'm looking for volunteers that can manage their own time and work happily & confidently on their own for a lot of the time, you must love cats I have a lot of them who love being petted, and a real character dog Ted, who loves going for walks. .......... I live in a small, peaceful. rural village 35km from Yambol the county town, south east Bulgaria. There are 3 small general shops here and a lovely traditional Bulgarian bar where you can sit with the locals and enjoy a coffee or drink, tradition Bulgarian snacks and just relax. There is also a small village museum if your interested. There is an early morning Bus to Yambol that returns in the afternoon and some wonderful walks around the village taking in the beautiful countryside views. I have 13 cats-sometimes more- and a dog so you must love animals as they have access to the house and garden as they wish and the dog is always up for walk if you are. You can experience the true spirit of Bulgaria here, the villagers are very friendly, they turn their land with a horse drawn plough and a donkey or horse and cart is a popular means of transport. In exchange for 4-5hrs hours help a day, 25hrs a week I can provide your meals, tea, coffee and soft drinks, I also have wifi which you can use.In your free time you can visit Yambol 35kms away on the bus, it leaves around 07.30am and returns around 3pm. From Yambol you can get the bus to many other villages and towns. If I am free, I'm also happy to take you to the main Yambol bus or train station if you wish to visit other places on your days off. Another bus leaves around 4pm for an evening in town and a taxi back is possible. There is a traditional Bulgarian bar that serves some food where you can enjoy a drink or coffee and meet the locals. The walks are wonderful around the village or you can just chill in the garden. I have internet so you can watch TV on your device and plenty of books to read. Maybe we could make a BBQ and cook outside. I look forward to showing you around my village and will make you most welcome in my humble home which needs a lot of work but has the essentials and is comfortable.

HELP NEEDED WITH
*????? Garden work - digging,planting, weeding, trimming, cutting back, mowing, collecting wood. sorting, chopping, stacking, resetting slab stone pathway, laying membrane, barrowing, laying small stones.
*????? Painting & decorating - restoring plaster & lathe ceiling, filling, making good, sanding. painting, glossing.
*????? Carpentry - Restore old wooden window frames, design & build a wooden covered front porch, build a stud wall.
*????? Tiler - Tile a wet room floor

*?? If you would like to come and stay when replying please say what jobs you would be interested in helping with while you are here and what skills you have.

I would love some help with with my 2000sqm garden, I would like to get a couple of areas laid with stones this year which will involve digging the ground out, removing tree stumps & large weed roots, laying a membrane and barrowing the stones to put on top. I have an old stone slab pathway that needs resetting so its level as well for anyone who knows what they are doing with that, at the moment its its all uneven and sloping downwards. Other work in the garden is keeping it tidy, weeding, cutting back, collecting wood up for winter, cutting, chopping, stacking, planting etc......... I would also like help with prepping & decorating what is now my lounge, the ceiling is plaster & lathe and has some large cracks in it, I would like to keep it if I can, so if you have knowledge and experience of renovating old houses and could repair it that would be fab, as well as prepping & painting old inside walls......... I have a couple of big projects in mind for this year and would really love some skilled help from carpenters, the house has 3 old wooden window frames that I would like to keep but they need some repairs and work to make them open and close properly. I would also like help with designing and building a wooden covered front porch on the front of the house, I know the sort of thing I would like but need help discussing the practicalities of the design, materials & of course the building of it. My bathroom is large and I would like help to remove the bath and have a stud wall & door made so I can have a wet room & separate storage area, Once this is done I need the floor drain reset so its in the correct place to drain the water out and a tiler to re tile the floor to complete it as functional wet room.

ACCOMMODATION & WORK EXCHANGE
In exchange for 4-5hrs a day/25hrs a week I can offer you a clean single room for one person that has its own entrance separate from the main house entrance, the bathroom & toilet is in the main part of the house so you will need to step outside to come back inside.

If you're a couple there is plenty of space to pitch a tent or park a camper or caravan in the large garden with some hard standing for vehicles.

I will provide you with 3 good meals a day, whoever cooks dinner( its usually me) the other washes up, but you may have to cook your own if Im out, a packed lunch if you wish on your days off, tea, coffee & soft drinks, internet, hot showers, washing machine. I am happy to cater for vegetarians.

I don't provide alcohol or confectionery but the local shops & bar sell them.

I am happy to collect and take you to Yambol bus or train station for your arrival & departure or for any trips you wish to do on your days off.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use