Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 8543
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Oct-Mar
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 8543
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 27, 2015

I am looking for some help in the next few weeks to pack away the yurt camp after the end of the season. And to prep the veggie patch for next year. The site is sloping, so a reasonable level of fitness would be helpful.

This is a smallholding(ish) and yurt camp about 400 metres from the medieval market town of Lalinde, in the Dordogne. I live in two yurts next to a building that houses a kitchen and bathroom. To generate income, I have two 18-foot coppiced chestnut yurts and a 12-foot coppiced ash yurt that are open to paying guests from May to September.

The veggie patch is less than one acre of raised beds and hugelbeds, and the polytunnel is not too large. Animals are currently chickens, a goose and a cat. Where possible, materials for projects are sourced on the land, by hand. Which is physical, but satisfying work.

Other details of interest are:
o Free WiFi is available in and around the living space.
o Free calls to landlines in the UK and beyond.
o An average of 4-5 hours of work each working day is the target.
o My native language is English but my French is pretty good.

Stays are limited to two weeks, and one request upfront is that your attitude is positive and enthusiastic. I'm not a slave driver by any stretch and have had really good experiences of HelpXers so far.

Before you come, I recommend reading the blog, so you know exactly what you're getting involved in.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use