help exchange   Host 85544
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 15
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85544
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 21, 2020

OPEN to Interview Volunteers

***Due to the issues with the COVID-19 virus we ask that whoever wants to come to have been NOT exposed to anyone, to have been either QT at home for over 14 days or a way to QT before coming here. This not only due to the fact n one here wants the virus BUT this facility has to keep operating with animals to feed and care for. They depend on us to keep them cared for and healthy. We will feed you well, we are like a family and care for each other so care for us and if there is even a remote chance of you bringing it here don't apply*****

#1 below--Accepting applications for Male to start anytime from June 23rd--October 31st

#2 below--Accepting applications for Female to help starting July 8th-- December 31

We are a nonprofit horse rehabilitation center that offers rescue, education on equine care, volunteering, community service, owner assistance programs. We teach those wanting to learn all aspects of equine care. We need hands on to help with projects we are working on to complete fencing, installing waterers, arena work and more. Would love to have some energetic people that want to make a difference in horses lives here.

If you say you are going to come here and your plans change please let us know. Don't leave a Host hanging when we need to make arrangements. If we don't speak regularly please contact 1-2 weeks prior to coming to make sure your spot is open. We get a lot of people who cancel without letting us know. If we don't hear from you then we assume you are NOT coming and will fill your spot. If you are flying contact before making flight plans to ensure your spot is still here also.

Someone who is good at construction, handyman type, able to help with outside work on fence--helping set posts and stretch wire, installing light fixtures, and more. Someone who knows tools, can follow outlined project, help with things such as weed whacking/mowing.

Someone willing to do basic work such as helping sweep barn & mucking, help with feed times, cleaning, sorting, organizing, labeling, all the little things that help keep a facility running. Perhaps someone who would like to cook occasionally? You can also learn about horses while you help--please realize you will not be doing hands on with the horses unless asked to by Staff until you fully learn the system at the barn.

We can not accommodate additional dogs, horses or pets. No children.

We now have a room for guys and one for the girls. Dorm type room so yes you may be sharing with 1-2 others. Bathroom in the hall (your required to keep presentable to public) Meals, snacks. WiFi, cable tv. Laundry and bathroom supplies provided. We ask that you adhere to our modest dress code. When out of your room we ask that you dress accordingly and also respect that others may be sleeping if you are an early riser (gotta have that cup of java before work) and do so quietly to allow others their rest.

If you want to cook please discuss with Staff where things are located. We keep plenty of food on hand to make sure people are fed, even Vegan/Vegetarian foods.

We do have dogs in house so must be able to live with them. If they are invading your space tell us, they are not to sleep in the bedrooms. They are very loving and like to cuddle. Two house cats also.

NO smoking

No alcohol or drugs on property. We ask that you respect this policy as we would respect you in your home.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use