Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 85782
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Glimåkra
All Year: Maybe
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85782
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 28, 2018

Hi travellers!
We are a Swedish couple, age 30ish.
Last autumn we moved into our house with a big garden, next to the forest.
We work with gardening and photography and we have many interests. We love creating. We are growing vegetables, berries, random things, and we want to create an edible and useful garden. We are interested in biodynamic growing. Pets: We have recently bought baby chickens and we have got a horse but not at home.

We live, in a village in southern Sweden. Here`s a store, small library, football field, small hockey arena. Outdoor swimming pool nearby. They are building a quite big park with parkour and skate area as our new neighbour, this year. "Porten till vildmarken"-"The gate into the wilderness" is the village slogan/future plan. Fishing possibilities. And lots of great nature, forests and fields :)
About 2 hours to Copenhagen.
We live on the way to Säljeryd - road 119 passing through the village.

We have a house and a caravan. We just brought the caravan here and it is planned to be a guest house. It's in a decent condition with electicity, toilet and room for 2-3 people but we want to improve it - fix the clean water system etc. We want to make it a really nice place to live in. With an own spot to create a private outdoor area. Some carpentry and construction is needed.

We eat vegetarian and vegan food, no meat.

Our little family contains us two, 9 chickens, and a horse (who lives about 5km away).
If you are interested in trying horse riding, we`ll take you out on a forest ride, with us walking :)


If you are interested in coming here, please tell us what your skills are, and what you like to do. We have many things going on so we`ll prepare what you`ll help with depending on your interests. Some big projects:
Autumn: Planting a big hedge (amalanchier) around the garden.
Picking up firewood, putting it in a shed.
Building a nice winter garden for the chickens.

Flexible helping times for the volunteer, we`ll try to arrange something we are all happy with.

You need to be able to entertain yourself while we are away working. And able to work on your own. We`ll work with you sometimes ofc but we work full time right now (but one of us will study gardening and do the hedge planting this autumn :)

If you have a pet it may be possible to take it with you. If it is well behaved.

Welcome to join us for a while.
xxx

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use