help exchange   Host 8657
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Frome, Somerset
All Year: No
Area (ha): (Gardens)
Persons: 1, maybe couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8657
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 13, 2020

We are a retired couple with husband registered disabled. Until recently I was an active Helpxer in Europe but now am limited to light duties only.

We have two needs - one anytime from now and the second maybe from Easter depending on the weather.

We seek a competent carpenter to hang / rehang doors and generally help us keep the house in good condition. I would estimate a week's work based on 4 hours a day and am happy to commit to hosting for that time.

From Easter we want to substantially redesign our back garden and consign our 15 sq metres of decking to the fire. We will be laying stone tiles and digging / constructing a water feature / pond. Then reconfiguring lawns and veg patches. Strong backs and knees needed as well as passion for gardening and creative input as plans by no means finalised.

Also under and gloss painting needed in the house on a few doors.

The working day will be dictated by the needs of the job and weather - but probably no more than 4 a day and may be more or less. So 5 days on and weekend (or other days) free but catered for as you wish. We expect at least 2 weeks work for a couple or two individuals. Tiling skills distinctly useful.

There is lots of spring cleaning and work at the allotment nearby - strimming, digging, tidying and such.

We have 2 single rooms and a double room in the house but have a summer room with futon bed for 2 with facilities in the house.

In return accommodation and all meals, some of which gladly you can help prepare. Plenty to drink - alcoholic and non.

We are surrounded by fabulous Somerset / Wiltshire countryside and some World famous sites such as Stonehenge, Cheddar Gorge, Bath Spa (all World Heritage site) as well as some truly English oddities. Jurassic coast is just over an hour away and happy take a day out to explore.

We live in a small market town with masses to see and do and the centre is 5 minutes away.

Frome Railway station just 6 minutes walk away - but limited train service so we can collect and deliver to Bath Spa mainline or Westbury. Buses and coaches come and go from everywhere but irregularly.

Can also give you plenty of time and chauffeuring around. Phone, WIFI, Xbox and laundry.

Please contact if interested.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use