help exchange   Host 86592
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Graz
All Year: Not in winter
Area (ha): 2 hectares
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86592
Country: Austria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 7, 2018

Dear Helpers!

We live on the very Western edge of the city of Graz 200m higher than the city with a view over almost the whole Graz Basin in an amazing natural surrounding. At our back there is the forest going further up the hill and in front of our house is a meadow of about 1 and a half hectare going down the hill surrounded by forest.

I and my husband who is a very versatile handcrafter, live here together with our 2 children (female 9, 10) in a small house. 30m away of our house, there is another big old stone house of 150qm which we are gradually restoring.

Our vision is to make our place fit in a simple, natural way for small workshops in the healing area. We need to make accessible the well preserved loft of the old stone house, to build a compost toilet and another wooden platform under our wonderful weeping willow. Our plan is to fulfill this vision by the next year (2019).

But right now, we have to establish a fence along the upper part of our meadow to welcome some guest sheeps who will eat the grass on the steeply parts until the end of September. Therefore, we also have to build an open shelter for our guest animals.

This autumn 2 huge ash trees will be unfortunately be felled due to an European wide invasion of an Asian fungus. This means, in September we will have to split the wood of these trees.

Accomodation

At the very end of the old stone house we have already restored a simple room with a wood-fired stove and a double bed which would be the accommodation of our helpers. But the toilet, the shower and the kitchen have to be used in our small house. We would be delighted to host a couple or one or two men (friends) on a weekly basis until October this year. As we are off some days during the summer it is however possible to stay here as house keepers. We have two cars, so it will always be possible to use one.

In case you are a couple, we will ask the man to help my husband in the construction of the fence etc. (there are also friends of ours helping us) and the woman I will ask to help me cooking, looking for our children when I have to work (I am Shiatsu practitioner), help me in the garden and make marmalade (in August).

In case you are a man or two friends, my husband will ask you to help him and I will cook etc.

What else is important to know about us?

We have two cats living outside all over the year and a dog. I and our older daughter are vegetarians. My husband and our small daughter eat very rarely meat. We adults also communicate in English, I talk Spanish too.

Communication: We would like to offer circle-way-talks around or in front of an open fire on a regular basis to listen to the mental state of each person, to hear their wishes, ideas etc. Everyone should feel satisfied while living with us.
Music: Home music and chanting around the fire singing earth-songs and playing guitar and drums.
Acrobatics: We can offer acrobatic stuff, such as aerial silk, hula hoops and poi-playing lessons.
Body work: I can offer Shiatsu sessions and Yoga exercises.

What can you do in your spare time?

The city of Graz has many cultural offers, such as dancing, theatre, acrobatics etc. It is surrounded by a lovely nature with a very active alternative scene of people.
Transport: Down the hill public transport of the city of Graz available (half an hour walk or 2 km. We offer shuttle service whenever possible)Bikes also available.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use