help exchange   Host 87193
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 65
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 87193
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 9, 2019

Rolling hills with woods, fields, prairie, wetland, ponds, river, gardens, hedgerows, and pasture make up the 65 acre farm we transformed from the rented monoculture fields we purchased in 1988. Certified Permaculture Design. 2 miles of trail. We raise chickens, geese, perennials: asparagus, rhubarb, apples, pears, cherries, hazelnuts, black walnut, herbs, self-seeders like cilantro, arugula, and black raspberries galore! We also have begun apricots, aronia, goji berry, service berry, paw-paws, and persimmons. We sell hay and geese. We supplement our diet with the other foods. We share the farm with a 30 year old, retired horse, a St. Bernard, 4 affectionate cats, 15 chickens, and 30+ geese. We leave a wild area of undeveloped permaculture (zone 5 ) for wild turkeys, otters, mink, squirrels, ground hogs, raccoons, foxes, chipmunks, deer, ducks, sandhill cranes, frogs, blue herons, turtles and other critters. We offer you wholesome, plentiful, fresh food. We eat meat and dairy products. But when we have vegetarian helpers we try to eat more vegetarian meals. We cannot accommodate persons with food allergies to common foods or intolerance to soy, nuts, peanuts, gluten, eggs or milk products. Accommodations: Old 9 room farm house, just one bathroom. Yes, we have Wi-fi but for your cellphone reception please note that some providers donít have the best reception. You may need to walk up the hill on occasion. (no problem with Verizon).
Your bedroom is a large, 2nd floor room with a couch, desk and queen sized bed.
Transportation: We will pick you up at the Milwaukee train/bus station or Milwaukee Airport if you pre-arrange with us but we cannot get you or deliver you to the mega bus schedule from Chicago because it gets in after 11 pm. and leaves at 4 a.m.
Expectations: You should do some online research of permaculture before you come here. Begin with Your work is 20 to 25 hours per week of farm work and sometimes household chores if weather does not permit working outdoors. Your outdoor work requires physical strength: haying, feeding animals,cutting wood, clearing brush, shoveling, hoeing, weeding, repairing fence, building and/or painting or maintaining structures, pruning, planting, and harvesting, any work the season and weather permits and requires. We are 72 and 75 years old and while we are in good condition, we donít have as much stamina as we once had. We get up slowly in the morning and are not ready to work until 9:30. We value independent workers and you may have to work alone or with another helper after we explain the job. This is not a good situation for people who want or need to work alongside us constantly, but we will be nearby to answer your questions. This is a 2 or 3 week experience.
Who We Are: Organizations we are involved with include Great Lakes Earth Institute, Transition Milwaukee, Midwest Permaculture Convergence, Riveredge Nature Center, 4-H and other non-profit groups. We enjoy hosting people who are involved in music, writing, and film and other arts. We will likely take you to events of cultural interest. Peg is a movie addict. Our home is overflowing with books and dvds which you are welcome to look at. You will find our nature library extensive. A note about us: We have 4 masters degrees between the 2 of us in physics, architecture, computer science and education of ďat riskĒ youth, as well as various licenses, awards, and special knowledge from extensive study of natural horsemanship, etc. Wes has a solar site assessorís permit and is a licensed Master Electrician. We are currently working on finish solar and hope to be off grid by 2020.
We have an awareness of the tribulations of our times, particularly climate change and we believe permaculture is a big part of the answer.
Our location is convenient for exploring. We are Located on the North Branch of the Milwaukee River although it is surrounded by swampy area and not easy to get to, Lake Twelve is one mile away for canoeing, two other lakes nearby for swimming, and we are just 14 miles from Harrington Beach State Park on Lake Michigan. Also, weíre just 17 miles from tourist shops, restaurants and festivals of Cedarburg and Port Washington, Wisconsin. We live 12 minutes from the Kettle Moraine State Forest where you can hike the famous Ice Age Trail. 10 minutes away is Sunburst Ski Hill. About once per week we head into Milwaukee and you are welcome to come along, just a 42 minute drive. Most of our trips are to West Bend, Wisconsin, a town of 32,000 located about 12 minutes away.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use