Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 8743
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8743
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 10, 2018


I would like some help with tree surgery,carpentry, plumbing and as always I need help to keep my garden in order.

Also, some help with our community project. The next stages are maintaining flower beds in the village square and work on our nature trail.

I live in a recently constructed small wooden ecological house in the heart of the small friendly village of Cahuzac. The village has two classed historical monuments, the chateau and the church. Cahuzac also has a historical link with the first French governor of Quebec in the fifteenth century.

I am looking for helpers who will be attracted to this lovely little bit of paradise and who wish to contribute not only to my own garden and house but also to the small village community in which I live.

Some of my trees are in need of some surgery if you have the skills to do this.
I have a beautiful flower and productive vegetable garden on a small scale using permaculture and organic methods. I welcome helpers with extensive gardening knowledge who are capable of working on their own initiative without close supervision. You need to be physically fit to help with digging, mowing, strimming, woodcutting, composting, planting, pruning etc. I love working in the garden myself but so much more can be achieved with help. I like sharing ideas and welcome your input.

I am involved in a community project to improve the village where I live by planting flowers, bushes and generally better the environment, including making a nature trail. My house is situated in the village centre. In 2015 and 2016 my helpers made significant progress with this long term project. This is great as the only way to get things done in a small community like this, where public funds are very limited, is by volunteers making it happen. Its also a great opportunity to meet people and practise your French. You will have the satisfaction of knowing that your help is improving the life of ordinary people in a small village. My previous helpers became very popular in the village.
In 2015 one of my helpers started work on making a nature trail in the village. She wrote the text for information panels along the trail but what is now needed is someone with the skills to make the actual panels.

I have 2 friendly dogs and 3 cats. There are 6 chickens and 9 comical Indian runner ducks. No animal is eaten here, they are valued for themselves and their eggs. I always appreciate some help with the animals and really enjoy it if you join me on my dog walks in our lovely countryside.

There are always DIY jobs to be done here and also as part of the community project. If you have the skills then I would really like someone install sanitary facilities in my cabin which serves as guest accommodation.

Warm hospitality, good company, vegetarian meals with some fish, eggs, dairy, (I don't mind if you cook your own meat) snacks, countless cups of tea and coffee. You are welcome to join in with my life and the life of the village. Please be aware that there is no public transport here but I try to ensure my helpers see something of the local life and area.

Accommodation is comfortable. You have full use of the house and your own private space in a wooden cabin (with heating when necessary and wifi connection to internet) situated in the garden just behind the main house.

My house is situated 25km south of Bergerac and 40km from Marmande. Nearest airport is Bergerac, 20km from house. Toulouse and Bordeaux two hours drive away. Good rail connections to Bergerac and Marmande. I can pick you up from anywhere within reasonable travelling distance.

Looking forward to hearing from you if you would like to experience life in this part of friendly rural France and wish to help a busy lady and the people of a small friendly village.

Feel free to ask any questions to decide if this is the place for you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use