help exchange   Host 87538
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Brisbane
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): N/A
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 87538
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2019

We are a young family of 3 ( 2 boys 5 and 7 years).

We live in an inner city apartment in brisbane, right on the river. So it's a great place to get to know the city by bike, walking, bus, train or citycat. There's also an onsite plunge pool, gym and bbq area, and visitor parking. This could be suitable for tourists or those looking for something to settle into before finding steady accomodation or work locally. It's a beautiful lifestyle as there is a cafe onsite, and also a large historical pub across the road.

I'm happy if you're keen to be social and do things together in Brisbane or down the coast - like being part of the family, the kids love that and we love meeting people from all backgrounds and showing them around brisbane. And if you want to be more independant that's all good also.

Work around the apartment could include usual housework such as cleaning, cooking, laundry, some help with the kids etc (such as school drop off/pick up, getting ready in the morning, going to the park). Helping reinforce and implement routines/systems; Also I have a list of activities that I want the kids to work on - such as learning to read clocks, books, counting, language, swimming, piano, guitar, bike riding, skateboarding, balls skills, push ups etc. etc. so I would love someone with enthusiasm who's keen to help with these kind of things.

And there might be miscellaneous jobs such as assembling things, fixing things, hanging pictures, mending/painting walls. Maybe even some photography and organising if that's something you'd be good with.

You must have a driver's license and be a competent driver (ideally 25 or over). Also you must be of course comfortable and confident with children. You should be trustworthy, conscientious, reliable, organised, have initiative and good attention to detail. This is very important as I am looking for an adult helper, not an extra child.

I will show you the ropes for the first few days but then I would expect you to be able to discern how you can help out without being instructed in every way. You must understand what it takes to run a household, so ideally you have already lived in your own house as I am not interested in having to explain basic domestic tasks.

I'm very flexible with day to day things, but most days you would need to be up around 6:30am when the kids wake up and assist for perhaps an hour. The rest of the day would just depend on what's happening. I prefer to tailor my helper's role to the individual and their strengths, so when you apply please let me know what your interests and skills are. Maybe you have certain talents for sports, art or music you can share with the kids. Maybe you are knowledgeable about gardening. Maybe you are particularly good at cleaning, cooking , reorganising or more manual tasks using tools etc.

I'm expecting on average 14-20 hours a week, but we can allocate this however suits really. You would have access to wifi, netflix etc. Any and all food - we generally eat simple healthy food, lots of fresh fruit, veggies, meat, eggs and make our own yoghurt.

I think to start off with 2 weeks is good, but I'm open to extend this to a month or 2. 10 days is the minimum required stay otherwise there is not enough time to be really helpful whilst still being orientated.

This position would best suit 1 person, but 2 are ok HOWEVER with 2 helpers I do require you to speak to each other in ENGLISH. This is for your benefit in learning English, and also creates a more cohesive environment for everyone. Having said that, you can speak to the children in any language you choose, in fact I prefer this! Your understanding in this matter is appreciated thanks!

The kids do rugby, swimming, gymnastics, jiujitsu and love going on all sorts of adventures!

About me, I'm a busy mum, work in the beauty industry and speak some rusty french and love learning all languages. I'm studying german at the moment also and just started studying at university! So if you can help me practice German or French that would be cool also! I have a dream to one day get an off grid property running! We are pretty active, we like trying out lots of different experiences. I have hosted many backpackers over the years and love meeting travellers :)


:::::UPDATE:::::

We are moving over to Germany soon so looking for self-motivated helpers who can be of assistance with the kids and various housemoving tasks - until July 24. We are temporarily staying in a house in Hamilton, it is right next to Doomben train station, and there is a spare bedroom available.

I need help with getting the kids to school and their sports activities, also maybe assembling some furniture and cooking. I really don't have the time to be too social right now unfortunately, or cook much, but guests are welcome to help themselves to food and cook whatever they like! I am at the moment rather frantically occupied going back and forth between the apartment and house as I am prepping the apartment to be let out air bnb style while we are away.

I am also looking for a helper to act as a housesitter with some very basic duties for a minimum of 5 weeks. There is also the option for paid work in this role for additional cleaning.

As a side note, if anyone here is interested in renting one of the rooms for 1-6 months at the apartment, let me know. It's a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment, rates are scalable to length of stay between $260-$330 per week.

Ta!


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use