help exchange   Host 8803
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .08 hectares
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 8803
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 5, 2020

We welcome all travelers to come experience a bit of urban life here in our lovely community, which is located in upstate New York (six-hour drive to NYC). Our focus is on community building and sustainability.

Currently seeking help with the following areas:

Spanish / Italian Teacher: Speak Italian / Spanish with us while we complete various tasks. If you are interested in helping with specific tasks, please let us know. (Free English classes are also offered here in the evenings for those who wish to learn English).

Home Improvement: Help us with various home improvement projects involving carpentry, welding, electrical, plumbing, drywalling, tiling, etc.

Cooking & Cleaning: Food prep, cooking, dusting, sweeping, organizing, etc.

Child Care: Hang out with our kids and read books, do art projects, perform science experiments, play games, etc.

Community Art: Paint murals, portraits, street art, etc. (Please include samples of your work when contacting us.)

If interested, please send us a message which includes a little information about yourself and your prior experience.

For more information, see below!

We can accommodate up to 3 HelpXers. You may have your own room or you may be sharing with 1 or 2 others. In some instances, it may be necessary to shift you to a different room depending on the number of guests we are hosting at any given time.

We ask that you work approximately 1-4 hours a day with an average of 15 hours per week. (sometimes a bit more, sometimes a bit less). We prefer to keep the schedule flexible. Generally, we tend to start around 9am, but, again, flexibility in scheduling (and in general) is definitely a plus. Please note that while we love hanging out with our guests, we may not always have time to do so. This help exchange is probably best suited to independent sorts who are comfortable exploring on their own and making new friends in an unfamiliar city.

In keeping with our sustainable approach to living, the food served here is vegan and prepared using local and organic ingredients whenever possible. We will provide you with basic staples such as rice, cereal, oats, soy milk, pasta, beans, and nuts. Helpers are welcome to purchase anything extra they might find necessary. You will also be invited to join us for lunch / dinner at various times throughout the week.

During the warmer months, we grow fruits and vegetables in our garden plots. We're growing plenty of spinach, lettuce, herbs, peas, green onions, kohlrabi, cucumbers, peppers, tomatoes, squash, melons, potatoes, garlic, and strawberries (to name a few)! And much, much more! We're always looking for permaculture and organic enthusiasts to help us out during the growing season (April-September).

We have an "artist's fence" back behind our compost tumblers where families from the neighborhood have recently created a mural. Any artists out there? LFC guests and helpers are always encouraged to leave their mark on the community!

We are always working on various home-improvement projects, including hardwood floor refinishing, drywall repair, tongue-and-groove flooring, linoleum, painting, carpeting, carpentry, etc. We prefer to use recycled and repurposed materials for everything that be build, and have long-term plans establish systems for utilizing grey-water in our houses' bathrooms and stored rainwater in our gardens.

As stated before, our house is very community-oriented. We host a potluck and at least one other event every month. We help organize and participate in community events. We frequent potlucks elsewhere. We attend the neighborhood association meetings. And so on.

When it comes to HelpXers, we really try to make use of each individual's skill set. Whether your specialty is computers or carpentry, painting or auto repair, sewing or story telling, gymnastics or gardening, there is a job here for you to enjoy! Even a skill share is a viable option (yoga, language, music, acrobatics, etc).
And while there are, of course also the more mundane things to be done around the house such as sweeping, dish washing, dusting, etc., we understand that Helpxers do not come here to be our maids (although we have had HelpXers who've said that these were their favorite sorts of things to do!). We also hope that if you are ever asked to do a task which you are uncomfortable with, that you will let us know right away. It is very important to us that you enjoy your experience here!

Basically, we're doing a lot of neat things and we'd love to have your help! As a HelpXer here, you can expect a fun and relaxed environment with plenty of laughter, socializing, and general good times! =)

Looking forward to hearing from you!
-The LFC

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use