help exchange   Host 88455
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Ilfracombe, North Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 88455
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 17, 2019

***********from January 2019**************

I am looking for someone to help with childcare or the garden or both! Currently childcare is more urgent but I will consider either. I can provide a double room with access to shared bathroom and kitchen and I'd be happy to provide vegetarian food. There is central heating, shower, bath, two toilets, constant hot water, access to cooking facilities and wifi.

I have a 9 year old son and 2 cats. I work from home and also occasionally have Airbnb guests so need to keep the the place in good order and appreciate guests that tidy and clean up after themselves. You would have access to the whole house but there will be times when we may ask you not to use one or other sitting rooms depending on my work or other. Happy to show you around and spend some time together but also hope you'll appreciate time to explore independently and understand that we will all need some space.

My son is 9 and likes to get on with his own things most of the time so it would be more a matter of just being around for him when I am out, some pick-up and drop-offs and maybe the playing the occasional game, going for a walk, sharing some language or other skills if relevant, etc. It would suit a single person or couple. If there were 2 single people there is the possibility of swapping rooms around a bit and having 2 single beds instead.

As far as the garden is concerned I have approximately a quarter acre at least 1/2 of which is overgrown with brambles etc. I would like some help in clearing the area so I can see what I have with a view to re-establishing boundries, repairing fencing etc, maybe planting some fruit trees this winter, planning out and preparing vegetable patches for next year and MAYBE having some kind of structure like a summer house built.

At this point my main aim is clearing vegetation but it would be good to have somebody around with some ideas on growing and/or building and repairing garden structures who could maybe help me plan the next steps.

I think 2 to 4 hours a day work in the garden for 2 to 3 weeks would be a great help.

Combe Martin in an area of oustanding national beauty, it's just on the edge of Exmoor and 20 minutes drive from the nearest great surfspots (Woolacombe is closest but not far from Croyde, Saunton, Lynmouth). It has it's own beautiful bucket-and-spade, craggy, rock-pooly beach which is just a mile down the road which is very popular with people kayakers and SUPs but maybe that's more a summer thing.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use