help exchange   Host 88812
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Waitakere
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 88812
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 16, 2019

We are a couple entering our vintage years. Our large peaceful lifestyle property is located in Swanson at the foothills of the beautiful Waitakere ranges with bush walks black sand surf beaches with all amenities close by.

Its a great place to start your travels in New Zealand.
The train is a 10 minute walk and the bus at the end of our road. The Westwave heated pool and gym a 10 minute drive or take the train.
The Auckland CBD 20 minutes drive off peek Auckland international airport 30 minute drive off peek.

We are vegetarians and have chickens a pony and a cat. We have a large organic vegetable garden and lots of flower gardens and a young orchard and are trying to implement a permaculture system on our property so any persons with knowledge in this area would be greatly appreciated as would anyone with landscaping and gardening skills.
We are looking for one or two helpers who are self motivated fit and strong honest and reliable and enjoy outdoor work as we have always things to do outside which include gardening, weeding,fire wood, helping with small building projects, planting and transplanting and painting.
We also have an Air BNB dwelling, which may need cleaning so general housekeeping, cleaning windows etc may need to be done.

We are looking for helpers who can speak and understand English and are self motivated and capable of working unsupervised at times.A knowledge of using outside tools and knowing about gardening would be useful and not afraid of working outside if its a little bit wet. We do have raincoats if you need them.

We are vegetarians and can provide you with fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden when we have plenty.
As I work and sleepover at work two or three days a week you will need to cook your own meals and organize your own breakfast and lunch I will provide you with vegetables breakfast cereals eggs bread spread and basics and may cook the occasional meal for you but you will mainly be cooking for yourself.

Your accommodation could be in our self contained caravan or in one of the BNB Holiday homes on our property which you can see more pictures of at our Air bnb listing'Palm Haven' close to the city, see website link above.
You must keep your accommodation clean and tidy in your own time and follow our house rules.

We will not tolerate any use of illegal drugs and if you smoke it is to be done outside and no cigarette butts left on the grounds.

We prefer you to take Sunday and Tuesdays as your days off and expect you to work 4 to 5 hours a day but maybe negotiable.We prefer an early morning start in summer as it can be very hot later in the day.

IF YOU NEED TO STAY AN EXTRA DAY OR SO we can offer you accommodation for a cost of $50 per person for every night which includes a private bedroom internet power and water and a shared bathroom kitchen and lounge which beats any backpackers accommodation as its very luxurious with designer furniture and has comfortable beds however you will need to provide your own food and cook for yourself and may have other helpers sharing the accommodation with you and will need to leave the house as you found it REALLY CLEAN AND TIDY.

We are happy to help plan your trip around New Zealand and help in any way we can.

We prefer stays up to one week and not longer than two weeks but if we find we have more jobs to do we can negotiate an extension should you wish to stay longer.


We do have internet but it is not unlimited so please don't stream movies or music.



Photo 1 is our house
Photo 2 is the caravan
Photo 3 is our Airbnb
Photo 4 is the house. Which you will stay in if your paying.

As we are new to this we are just feeling our way and welcome any feedback.

We look forward to sharing the journey
with you.

Donna and Michael Gladwin.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use