Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 90211
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Victoria
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 90211
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2019

We are a family of four on a lovely hobby farm just outside of Victoria with 25 chickens, fruit trees and a developing garden.

The two adults of the family are both health care professionals - one of whom has a home based practice. Our daughter is 12 and our son is 9 and both attend school. We have a very active and busy schedule (swimmIng, biking, music, soccer etc.) and are looking to connect with people for some help with the property and to share our home for periods of 2-4 weeks at a time (longer periods may be considered).

Helpers should be comfortable with larger dogs- we have one who likes to visit with people.

Home considerations:

Pictures of the room accomodation are posted. It has one double bed- an extra camping foamy is available.

WiFi is available. Phones for local calls only.

Absolutely no smoking/vaping of anything on property (including outside)

Travel: The nearest bus is about a 15 minute walk to Camosun College on Interurban - buses are limited. Helpers can join us in our regular travel routines (am to work/school in town, home after evening soccer practice etc.). The road to our house has a couple of steep short sections.

Surrounding activities- I am sure that the internet will be a much more inclusive resource- :). We are happy to have people join us at activities if interested.

Helping activities: Primarily property/acreage development and maintenance - based upon helpers skills/interests: building raised beds, planting shrubs, shovelling and laying mulch, weeding, build trellis or woodshed, interior painting, pressure washing, cleaning chicken coop, fencing, moving dirt, etc.

Exchange: Helping for 3.5 hours per day per person (for five days per week so total of 17.5 per week) in exchange for accommodations and food/meals. Depending on time of year, our schedule with activities can be quite variable - which means meal times also are. So, people are absolutely welcome to participate in our meals- or we will arrange to purchase reasonable items for helpers to self-manage and use our kitchen.

Helpers are welcome to combine work time in advance of time off (eg work 7 hours one day and take next day off).

******* Currently looking for helpers between March 25, 2019 and June 20, 2019.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you with any questions or to make arrangements.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use