Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 90370
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Isle of Arran
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 90370
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2019

Come and stay on an idyllic Scottish Island.

My name is Susie, I am 22 and currently working for my parents on their land renovating a cottage and managing the surrounding land. My parents Beth and Chris own the Farm house, on the beautiful Isle of Arran. The property is a big farm house with a couple of holiday letting cottages on the property. It is located around the south end of the Isle of Arran.

We are looking for 1 or 2 people to help me work on the land, clearing ground and maintaining gardens and potentially assisting with the renovation of another cottage.
Other jobs would include:
Gardening work-weeding and planting
Clearing land of brambles and bracken
Tidying up the area around some rundown old farm buildings
Working on the cottage, painting, decorating and general labour.
I would suggest working 4 days a week, giving you more time if you wanted to see more of beautiful Scotland. But we can be fairly flexible in the hours that suit you. Minimum of 2 weeks stay but flexible with the right people.

Accommodation will vary depending what time of year you arrive. Until March you will have a room in one of the letting cottages that I am currently living in. Food will be provided, it will be more of a make your own breakfast and lunch but will provide a meal in the evenings. I am a meat eater but can cater to vegetarians as well.

We are at a quiet part of the island but the most beautiful with two beaches just a five minute walk away. There are currently 4 dogs living on the farm who all love visitors. One is my own 10 month old border collie.

There are buses round the island that come every three hours, however, Beth and myself are often heading into the other villages and can drop you off if we are heading that direction for you to explore. In Brodick and Lamlash (the two main villages about 10 miles away from us) there are a few decent pubs and restaurants which we can point out too you. We also have a local hotel with a pub and restaurant five minutes down the road.

We would let helpXers have use of a couple of kayaks that we have on our land, I am a kayak coach so if you have never been out before I can help with that. There are also some bow and arrows if you want to try a bit of archery. We are located in an ideal location if you love walks with the beaches close by and some lovely forestry walks on the road up behind the house.

If you have any further questions or need any more information please let me know!

Susie :)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use