help exchange   Host 90591
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


2 Mai - Black Sea
All Year: April - October
Area (ha): 0,2
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 90591
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 14, 2019

Looking to broaden your horizons? Come and join us in Romania near the Black Sea, where time stood still, life and food is good, the sun is shining and people are extremely hospitable!

HOME: At 10 minutes walking distance to the sunny beach we (Marcel and Vali) have a lovely traditional Romanian cottage with some land in the small village named 2 Mai (Doi Mai). 2 Mai used to be a popular hideout for dissidents in the communistic era. You will find a mingle of cultures living together for centuries, beautiful countryside with abundant flora and fauna, ancient Greek, Roman and Byzantine remains. We are currently restoring the house and are planning to build 6 small lodges for ecotourism and restoring the old edible garden and vineyard. We need help with the ecological garden (permaculture, including planting and digging), the restoration of the cottage and the sustainable construction of the lodges that will be built with natural (recycled) materials such as wood, stones, straw and clay.

ACCOMODATION: You can sleep in the house or if you prefer, in a tent on the premises. The clay house is primitive but comfortable: cool in the summer and heated when cold with a traditional woodstove. There is a hot shower and a fully equipped kitchen. Do not forget to bring your bathing suit and towel as sunbathing may be possible from the end of April till the end of October (swimming possibly from May on, weather permitting).

WIFI: We have a good functioning WiFi.

ANIMALS: Cats, a friendly dog and chickens of the neighbours may be around in the garden. As I am planning to put beehives in the back of the garden for beekeeping, they may be there when you arrive. They will generally not harm you at all, but if you are seriously allergic to bees, please take the proper precautions.

FOOD: We love home cooking. We’ll provide you with 3 meals a day, let you taste local delicacies and indulge you regularly in traditional (mainly healthy) Romanian homemade food of the season with pure, local ingredients. Our neighbour is a traditional fisherman, and he provides us often with his catch of the day. Little shops are nearby, if you wish to buy something extra, and we have some authentic markets nearby that add up to the ‘couleur locale’.

HEALTH ISSUES: If you need medical assistance, we have a hospital nearby (only 4 kilometres away). In the village there is a small pharmacy or you can visit one of our natural pharmacies, they are very skilled in treating you with plants.

HELP NEEDED: We ask you to help us for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. You’ll have Sundays off and a weekday by your choice (between Monday and Friday). On Saturdays we would like you to work because my cousin from Bucharest usually comes over for the weekend and it is nice to be able to work at least 1 day a week (on Saturday) with the whole team on heavier duties. Many hands make light work. On work days we will start in the morning (usually between 8 and 8.30AM, weather permitting), as in the afternoon it may get too hot. We would like you to stay for at least 2 weeks.

DAYS/ AFTERNOONS OFF: You can stay around, enjoy the beach or explore the area. We have bikes and a sailing boat at your disposal. You may cycle around the countryside and use the boat provided you are a sufficiently experienced sailor, otherwise I might take you for a tour if you wish. There is public transport nearby that can take you up to as far as Constanta or to some nearby towns and beach resorts. The region is also famous for its vineyards, so you might consider paying them a visit. If you like to treat yourself, you can obtain a health cure at Techirghiol. If you like the Ibiza lifestyle, enjoy the party in one of the hippie beach clubs in closeby Vama Veche. Sunday mornings we usually go to the rural market in Mangalia. You may join us as you wish, it’s quite an experience!

YOU: We would love to invite you if you are a helpful and flexible team worker and have experience with gardening (including planting and digging); carpentry; masonry; and/or plumbing. You are respectful of the environment and careful. Although the garden is spacious, we do have neighbours so please respect their privacy and do not cause any disturbance.
WE: Marcel is a native Romanian, who lived for 40 years in the Netherlands and came back to his roots. He used to be a marine officer, an engineer and entrepreneur with good skills in working with natural materials. He has also been growing his own fruits and vegetables since childhood, has been an apiculturist for over 35 years and makes his own wine. Vali is Marcel’s cousin. He spent his childhood in the area too but currently lives in Bucharest during the week. He comes over for the weekends. He is a criminologist with excellent construction skills and has also been growing his fruits and vegetables since childhood. Both love to cook, enjoy having friends around and share stories.

LOCAL AREA: It's a great experience being in Dobrogea - it's a historically interesting area (with Greek, Roman and Byzantine remains), a melting pot of cultures that have been living side by side peacefully since centuries, healthy sea air, beautiful countryside, traditional villages and yet the comfort of modern life is also nearby. You will find the people extremely hospitable and the simplicity of life will enchant you. Cheese is still made by hand, horses and chariots are common sight, only local products are sold on the markets and fishing is still done manually in little open boats.

LANGUAGES: We speak English, German, Dutch, (quite some) Spanish and Romanian.

MORE INFORMATION:
http://romaniatourism.com/dobrogea.html
http://ebridge.info/en/articles/the-hagieni-wood-reservation
https://stefaniavanlieshout.com/en/2018/09/13/romania-dobrogea/
https://theculturetrip.com/europe/romania/articles/romanias-best-seaside-resorts/

Gotten excited? Please contact us for further information. We are looking forward to meeting you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use