Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9081
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Inverness
All Year:
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, 2 or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9081
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 16, 2018

Looking for female helper - 22nd-27th July
Looking for male helper 29th July - 5th August or any time in between.

Hello, thank you for looking at our listing.

We are Cathy (39) and little boy who is 6 years old and home-educated. We live in a beautiful little cottage slap bang in the middle of a nature reserve.

We like to have 2 helpers so friends are welcome to apply, alternatively we are happy to take 2 single travellers - but please be aware you may need to share a sleeping area with another helper (who we will ensure is the same sex and similar age to you.)

We do not take helpers without seeing pictures, so if you do not have photos on your profile, please let us know your Facebook page or other.

Sleeping accommodation will most likely be a small (landed) boat in the garden, but with full access to the house 24 hours a day.

We have a big kitchen, sitting room (with X-box, Wii and internet TV) and big garden as well as of course plenty of amazing countryside so you are definitely not going to feel cooped up. We also have a bath with unlimited hot water at any time of day - which is apparently a bit of a HelpXer`s luxury lol!

All meals including picnics for your days off are provided and of course you can have access to the internet / games / books etc. just make yourself at home with us.

We ask that you work about 24 hours a week.

We need help looking after Leo, looking after the house and garden and assisting with Cathy`s messy-play and cleaning businesses. The other jobs we need help with are many and varied but could include:
Dog walking
Decorating
Gardening
Repairing outbuildings
Cleaning out poultry
Berry picking
Beer / Wine making
Jam / pickle making
Laundry (lots and lots of laundry!)
Assisting at sales / promotion events
Or whatever needs doing that day, we need someone to fit in with whatever needs doing, often we don`t know til that morning!

This is a placement for a flexible, confident person who is fine spending time alone and does not need detailed instructions to get on with a task.

We are a long way from anywhere, the bus stop is over a mile from the house and the buses are not all that regular so please only apply to stay if you like walking and the countryside!

We have animals including dogs and cats who live in the house so you must be comfortable around them.

Our house is difficult to get to on public transport, especially with a big bag, however, if you get yourself to Inverness airport, train station or bus station, I will pick you up and drive you home.

If there is anything you`d like to know about us please get in touch, we look forward to hearing from you and you can add me on Facebook if you wish.

We usually not take vegetarians or vegans, as we do eat our own free range, ethically reared poultry. However, if you are a vegetarian and not offended by this, please feel free to contact us.

What you can gain from us (other than English practice): Country skills.

We are trying to be as self-sufficient as possible and grow our own food wherever possible. There will be opportunities to plant, grow, tend and harvest foods. Poultry husbandry. Occasionally there will be the opportunity to learn how to prepare a small animal (rabbit, chicken etc.) for the table if you want - obviously this is not something you have to witness and for the most part our diet is vegetable based.

We also forage and can share our wild food hunting skills, for greens, mushrooms and berries.
We make jams, chutneys, beers, wines etc. and would love to share these skills.

**PLEASE NOTE**

If we offer you a place but do not hear back from you within a couple of days your place might be given to someone else.

If you can only get to a computer occasionally, please let us know so we can give you longer to confirm.

(photos: 1.Cathy and Dughall, 2. Leo and his poultry, 3. Loch Meiklie, 4. The moor behind our house, 5. Loch Ness.)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use