help exchange   Host 91158
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Imatra
All Year: June till October
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 91158
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 25, 2019

We are Katja and Andy, a true Helpx-couple who met 10 years ago in Portugal while doing volunteering through HelpX. Now we are wishing to be hosts to other HelpXers in return.

Katja (33) is Finnish and Andy (43) is from Yorkshire, England. We have a house in Imatra, in South East Finland that we got around four years ago. We spend the Winters in Portugal but in the Summer season we enjoy the life in Finland. The house was built in the 1930s and in now needing renovations to keep it going. The main project for the coming Summer is to finish off the cladding of the exterior what Andy started last Summer.

We can offer the helper private accommodation in the upstairs of the house. You would get your own bedroom and toilet. The shower, sauna, kitchen etc are downstairs where we live. Lunch and dinner will be made by who ever has the best idea and the most energy left! Katja makes her own wines and cider from the garden and forest berries, and this summer shes planning of giving beer making a go. There are lots of berries and mushrooms to be picked between July and October.

From the HelpXer we expect good work morale. We used to give our 100% as volunteers and we hope to receive the same from the helpers we look after. Katja works in the local cemetery during the week, but Andy will be home doing the renovations. The helpers would be helping him with any ongoing projects, such as making scaffolding from wood, cladding the house, painting, occasional gardening (mowing the lawn, watering plants, weeding) etc. As the house is quite tall and you would be working up on the scaffolding, you cannot be afraid of heights. Any previous experience of building and renovation would be great. But willingness to learn will go along way.

We expect 25 hours of work a week, during the week days, as we usually want to rest on the weekends. If you were interested on some extra income to help with your travel expenses then you could be picking berries and mushrooms on your free time. You can sell them on to companies that use them for making drinks and foods, or on local Facebook-groups.

The helpers would always be welcomed to join us to the trips to the beach, walks in the woods, car boot sales/flea markets and any other trips well be taking. We are situated in a idyllic old neighborhood with only traditional wooden houses, 200 meters from a pond where you can swim, 500 meters from the Lake Saimaa (the biggest lake in Finland), forest all around, nearest shop 1,5 km, the town centre 5 km and the train/coach station 3 km away. We a have few bicycles you could borrow and also the local buses pass regularly very close to the house. Imatra is easily accessed by train or coaches. Helsinki airport is 2,5 hours away by train and tickets cost around 16 euros if booked in advance. There is also a small airport in Lappeenranta (40 km away) with limited flights from places like Berlin, Milan, Athens and Riga by Ryanair.

We would like help from the beginning of June till the end of October.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use