help exchange   Host 9184
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

West Cork
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 9184
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 2, 2013


Hi, Here's what I do... I grow Vintage Cut Flowers, providing a sustainable alternative to mass produced imported florists blooms. Most of what I grow is old fashioned and nearly always scented, grown both outside and in commercial polytunnels. It is seasonal with the year kicking off in Feb/March with oooodles of seeds to be sown and we wrap things up in Oct/Nov time. I'm a small unique operation and what I do I love, every plant I grow I know personally, and I take huge satisfaction in producing such a beautiful, unique product. My flowers are sold direct to the consumer through local markets, private orders for weddings/parties ect and I also sell them to country shops for retail. My business is based 10mins down the road from where I live at my parents strawberry farm, where we grow not only strawberries but squash also and french beans...or as the french call beans!!

And who we are.....I'm a mum of 2 kids, a little girl of 6 who never stops talking, she is quite a diva. And a much bigger boy of 11. We live in a lovely comfortable 5 bedroom cottage in a very scenic area of West Cork. We are out in the country surrounded by green rolling hills but not too far from anywhere. We have a busy life, with lots of fun for good measure thrown in. We have a dog..a German Shepard, who is a lamb in wolves clothes. Some chickens, who keep us in eggs, and 3 cats, 1 who is slightly insane! We have a big garden where we grow veggies (to have some thing to go with the eggs!!!! )We are pretty busy, but we try to keep a balance and I always try to make sure we get quality time with each other as a family. I ride with my neighbour, who has a yard of young horses, which is where I keep my horse and I try to get out as often as I can, my daughter also rides..well bobs along.We enjoy playing games, crafts, knitting,Snuggling up to watch a movie, walking, bike riding and exploring our beautiful and magical countryside with a picnic in tow, we love to discover new adventures and even better when shared with friends. My son is into rugby and surfing but especially kicking my ass on the sand dunes!My Daughter loves all things girly, singing ,dancing, fashion, ponies and sometimes it is hard to keep up with her social life!

What I'm looking for..... Being a single mum juggling all that I do, I do need help! I need some help with everything from gardening (though no experience is needed) including weeding, seed sowing, planting etc. flowers, including cutting and prep. Market selling. Help around the house, walking the dog perhaps and hanging out with the kids. None of it is hard work, and when the sun shines it isn't really work at all. Every day is different. and its not all day, every day. No experience is needed just a willingness to learn and a pinch of patience for the kids. Through experience I find that a minimum stay of 2 weeks is essential for people to get the best out of staying here, and a month is even better! I am open to long stay HelpXer's, we had one who stayed 18 months!

What you'll get. If any of this is of interest to you then please come stay, I love having people around. You'll have your own private bedroom, either a double or a single so couples are welcome. You'll be well fed (not just eggs and veg I promise) I am passionate about food and cooking and I love sharing delicious meals and exchanging a story or two! You'll be included in our family and hopefully become a honoury member. You can join in on any activities we are doing or I can try to accomodate any activities you wish to persue. You'll get plenty of free time. There is a car you can use if you can drive although the insurance only allows over 25's to drive and it is a manual. Our home is a very cosy and comfortable house with everything you might need. There are lots of lovely walks right outside the door, I live a 15min walk from a 600yr old castle that sits beside a lake and if you're brave you can go to the creepy pub and get the key to go inside the castle,roam around and imagine life 600yrs ago! There is a bicycle you can use to explore(though I do live on a hill!!!)and I am a short drive from many beaches and 15mins from Clonakilty one of West Corks most vibrant little towns. So there's lots to do.

Please contact me if any of my ramblings have made sense and you think you might like to come stay a while.

Safe travelling!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use