help exchange   Host 91871
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Brunnadern
All Year: Yes, basically up to Nov
Area (ha): 1.120
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 91871
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 12, 2019

(Vegetarians see below)
Lovely old farm house with two adorable cats in a nature protected area is looking for helping hands and like-minded spirits to share a great time.

My Elephant House at Homberg is located about 900m above sea level. It provides a nice breeze in hot summers to chill and stay cool in the mountains while it`s getting quite hot in the valleys. The house is open to meet people from different backgrounds and cultures, and I personally love to kind of contribute to the global community of vegan and conservational awareness, share and exchange knowledge and share life with like minded people.

I personally work honoris causa in elephant conservation in India and I am a film maker with always tons of workloads in all directions.
If you like you can check it out here :
www.wheretheelephantsleeps.ch
www.elefanteninnot.com

I`m completely behind maintenance work for this beautiful little paradise. Lots of things have to be redone in this over 200 year old wooden farm house, located at the rim on the forest in Kanton St. Gallen. Basically it is carpentry work and lots of gardening. I am not running a business, I'm living a very simple but luxurious (so it is for me and my guests) self-timed and self-sustainable life.
However, if someone combines editing and computer skills with gardening, that would be more than to be expected. Again, not a must at all. I actually had never an editor. May be its time to get started there.

The garden needs care and the vegetable beds weeded from time to time, the soil turned and manured, and the little hatchlings of vegetable planted in spring. Also, fire wood could be cut and stored properly for the winter if someone is good with a chain saw. I`ll be happy to help with all as much as I can (however have a tennis arm), and work with you together whenever possible. Working must be fun, at least for me it always is. So better enjoy yourself, and I will contribute to your stay and well-being. You should have a great time here.

Please bear in mind that this is a vegan and eco-friendly house. It got lots of good and peaceful spirit, it is nature loving and protecting, paradise by definition, - not a business-, and I am the guardian of this little island. So, should you be vegetarian at least, that`s OK, we will manage. Also, the usage of industrially produced soaps, shampoos, laundry detergents a.o. is restricted to minimum usage or better to not at all (if possible for you). The same is for plastic and aluminum products like baking aluminum.
As for meat and fish eater, I`m very sorry, those can`t be helped here. Alcohol is not really welcomed but accepted as long as it`s restricted to not daily or excessive use. Most of the people come as vegetarian travellers, and leave the house as vegan friends. And come back as vegan friends, which is wonderful. Mission achieved.
Besides these peaceful and non-painful restrictions for the betterment for all of us, you will experience lots of freedom and stillness and life around you, see and watch plants and your mind growing, and everything developing accordingly to its own evolutionary plan.

As for your experience where you are, I provide snowshoes, skies, racing bikes and mountain bikes for your physical (additional) exercises should you be longing for. The hilly area is ideal to get or stay in shape. And the mountain lakes in summers are gordeous for hard swimmers like me, or you.

You can explore the country side as well as you can take the train to Munic over the weekend (two and a half hours train ride. Besides 45 min to Zuric, and 35 min by car to St. Gallen, there`s lots to do. Also, Bregenz in Austria with it`s museums and opera stage on the lake is an attractive spot to hang out. If you like you can go on some compact city tours from here and come back to the house for chilling and work. This depends on how you or we will handle this, but for sure to everybody`s content. The Bodensee is a big lake for swimming or biking around, or hanging out for a tea/coffee or just sit on a bench and watch the clouds hanging above the water. The Walensee actually is the much better and wilder choice for swimming or wind-surfing.
I expect you to be physically strong and knowing what the most things are about just by looking at it and figuring things out on your own, independently functioning most of your time off.

I will be very excited to meet you and provide everything you need. I am sure you will have a great and unforgettable time in your life, and I am looking forward to host you at Elefantenhaus am Homberg.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use