help exchange   Host 91879
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 91879
Country: Ireland (N)

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 29, 2019

Oysters are cultivated on the intertidal area of the shores of lough Larne, I love working outside with nature. Work can be hard and physical and I am just looking for help and sharing experiences at the site. Be aware of the work is outside and it rains a lot in Ireland !!

Work hours are variable and there is not one day the same. There are days with 2 hours other 6 hours (average 4 hours) Oyster farming is organic, there is not added fertiliser or feed because these animals are filter feeder, meaning they eat micro algae, a natural food source coming with the tides.

I specially like being out there within the nature and wildlife, it is common to see seals and many birds around the farming structure and the surrounding. Access is 10 minutes by boat or from small path access going across an old quarry where Game of Thrones series was filmed (Magheramorne). Oysters are farmed in bags placed above the sea bottom, in bags placed on metal frames. I receive the oyster seed from hatcheries in spring and summer, it take two year to reach marketable size.

The work consists into grading and splitting the oyster seed, turning the bags and harvest or preparing new bags and structure. I am diversifying my activities and will sell my products for direct consumption in the summer. Anyone with marketing, building, gardening skills is more than welcome ! Otherwise I am very flexible with hours of work and you can take as much time off you need to visit Ireland. In spring and summer I go snorkelling and fishing from my boat off the coast and you are mores than welcome, itís fun.

I have car and motorbike and if you feel confident enough you are welcome to have the use of it. I also travel across the island and there is all time place in my car if you want to explore the country.

I would provide food and accommodation at my place, I can accommodate three persons (3 bedrooms, 2 single beds, 1 double bed).
The house come a garden and patio, it take 10 minutes drive to the farm or Larne town. I have bicycles. It is located at gleno in a quiet area uphill of the town of Larne.there is a waterfall and river beside the house. There are train and bus service to Belfast city (45 minutes approximately). Larne is also the start of the scenic coastal route to the Giant Causeway. Belfast international airport is only 30 minutes drive and Dublin airport 2 hours drive.
During my free time I have interest in singing, playing the flute, learning piano and I would like to learn drumming and loving painting so if you have any of these skills you are more than welcome.

By the way I am French native living on the Isle of Ireland for past 20 years !

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use