Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9195
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

La Croix Comtesse
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2400m
Persons: up to 3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 9195
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 4, 2011

Hello ! Thanks to all of the people who have written to me! Due to a very bad health problem with one of our family members, we are having to stop taking HalpXers for the moment. We do sincerely thank all of those of you have come to us and written to us.Sorry to the couple of HelpXers we have had to cancel....we do really hope to be able to start up again as soon as we can.....

We shall one day be back !!

.SUMMARY:B&B work and clearing,putting away, keeping garden looking good,ironing, Gardening and Organic Veggie Patch, Painting and decorating,repairing bits and bobs, Carpentry, Building & Plumbing,Jam making and fruit /veg bottling sterilizing , building a bread oven, building a car port. Hopefully I haven't frightened you off !!!Read on if you're interested.

Hello,I have a 3 room B&B with Gourmet meals.( We love our food !!) My husband works in the next village fulltime. He is French and I am FrancoBritish. We have a rural French life with a nice social life with friends and neighbours. During the week, my husband has a long, busy day. I'm a bit like a duck ...;calm above the water and peddling like mad to get through all the things I want to do :) !!! I'm quite easy going and fun, very honest and expect the same back.
I like people who get on with things,and have common sense and initiative but still know how to have a nice time and relax.We give our Helpexers good accomodation in our house and ask them to respect our house, bed linen, towels and keep their room and themselves ( ! )tidy and clean.We take you in as part of the family and have our meals with you, so, I do expect help setting the table and clearing/washing-up etc as you would in your own house. I have a lot to do and can't run around after the HelpXers...
We have a nice house and garden with swimming-pool and Organic Veggiepatch. But, we still have loads of things to be done.
Our kids are wwoofing at the moment in NZ. We are friendly, respectful and polite .We live in a lovely region. You would have a nice room sometimes shared with another HelpXer if we are busy . Meals provided when you are here. wifi. We lend bikes. We are 3 mins from the shop and 15 mins from the nearest towns ( Surgeres, Saint Jean d'angely and Niort) We are 55 mins from La Rochelle. I go to the local towns as well as La Rochelle and Bordeaux from time to time, so I can take you with me when I go.

From May, June, July and August onwards, during holiday periods I'll be trying to find a HelpXer to help with the B&B, housework,cleaning windows, ironing and restaurant side ( setting tables, clearing, tidying and sorting and generally taking initiative )There is weeding and keeping the patio swept. We'll have to sort out an office and get a filing system up and my B&B and cooking is more sucessful than I thought it would be !!

In 2012 We also want to make changes to the bathroom downstairs, so, if you're good at carpentry and plumming and using an electric drill,we'd welcome you !
Work hours can be adapted so you can visit the region, as there is a lot to visit. If you need to learn French or English, I can help as I am a French/English teacher. We have a Gordon Setter who is still young at heart and is a bit playful and jumps up to play, but is generally very good....apart from when she pinches the chesnuts out of a basket by the fire and scatters them on the rug !!!
In exchange we ask for 5 hours of work per day.You can group your hours so that you can go off and vist the region on the Mondays and Tuesdays or by arrangement other days.
So , if you feel we could get on and we can help each other,that you can be part of our family , have a look at our website Thanks for reading this ! hope to speak soon, Alison

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use