Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9255
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Christchurch
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: One couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 9255
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 26, 2018

Hello there!

We very much enjoy hosting people from all over the world and sharing our lives with them.

Over two years ago we have moved into our beautiful, newly built house just one block away from the sea. Our previous home got destroyed during the big earthquake in 2011.

We have got a 10-year old son, Lenny, and have recently adopted a little dog (Max) who is the most endearing Jack Russel you will ever meet. He gives us so much joy and we can't help but make a big fuss about him.
Frauke (48) is a nurse and Donald (57) is a social worker. We both totally love our work. We are vegetarians and non-smokers. We are interested in social issues and care about the environment. We generally try to keep our carbon footprint low by consuming little and recycling what we can. We are still learning about gardening and are hoping to grow a lot of our own food.
We would like to meet travelers who share our values, have a warm personality and a good sense of humour, who are inquisitive, resourceful and open-minded, have a certain sense of adventure and prefer the real world to the virtual world. Being handy with tools would be a bonus.
We love cycling, being outdoors and reading. Our TV is not connected and doesn't play a big role in our life. We have a real zest for life and are both interested in healthy living. We are easy going and like being silly. We are well connected in our community and love it when friends pop round spontaneously. Frauke knows a thing or two about photography, is interested in yoga and mindfulness and loves art and people. Donald is a very keen reader with an interest in science, men's politics and futurism. He also plays the guitar, sings and is into wine making.
Lenny is a very inquisitive boy who likes jumping on the trampoline, playing with Lego and being read to. He has a vivid imagination.
It is important to us that you have a feeling for children's needs and deal with them in a loving and respectful way.
Donald's 18 year old daughter Phoebe is at university in Dunedin.
And last but not least, if you don't like dogs much then this is the wrong place for you.

We would be grateful if you could work 4-5 hours/day in exchange for accommodation, yummy meals and the pleasure of our company.

Frauke used to be a tour guide and is always happy to advise you about some really cool spots to travel to here in NZ. You are welcome to borrow our bikes or the double kayak to go exploring while you are here.

Donald and Lenny are flying to Australia for a week from the 8th of September onwards. Frauke will be home alone with Max, the dog, during this time. So we are looking for a couple or two girls who can help around the house and garden during this time as well as look after Max while Frauke is at work. He loves long beach walks and lots of cuddles.
If you could arrive between the 4th and 7th of September and stay until the 15th that would be great. Please don't get in touch unless you can stay that long as things really get tricky when nobody is home to look after Max.

We prefer to be contacted by email rather than phone or text and are keen to find out a little bit about our helpers before they arrive. Tell us what you have to contribute, when you can come and how long you are intending to stay. Photo essential. No smokers, please. We consider ourselves gay and lesbian friendly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you into our cozy new home and our at times slightly chaotic life
Donald, Frauke, Lenny and Phoebe


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use