Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9265
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Brasov
All Year: YES
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1 or 2, occ. up to 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9265
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 30, 2018

After 24 years living and working in Romania I am returning to UK in late October this year. I have already retired from running tours (see below).

A hard-working HelpX-er (or couple) would be much appreciated in late September for a week to help with packing. Someone in late October to help with garden tidying and final house cleaning in preparation for new owners would be most helpful too!

From November I will be living on my canal narrowboat in Britain, and plan to host HelpX-ers for my new adventure cruising the canals and waterways of England. Please see my other HelpX profile #87492 (England) for details!

In Romania / Transylvania until my departure late October: free accommodation / good food / camping and travel advice / support - on a share / help / exchange basis - in an old Saxon smallholding in a village just north of Brasov in South East Transylvania!

Lots of jobs to be done - mostly cleaning / organising / gardening / packing / and help with selling things at a flea market in Brasov each weekend. In return I will show you the REAL Romania!

SPECIFIC PROJECTS for which I would like your help include:
1. Gardening.
2. Packing belongings for transport to Britain.
3. Photographing and listing household contents for sale on Facebook.
4. Help selling other items at a weekend flea market in Brasov.

I always need help with gardening, cleaning and cooking!

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS NOT A WORKING FARM ..... but please read on to find what I have been doing in Romania / Transylvania!

I am Colin - a Brit living and working permanently in Romania for the past 24 years. I have recently retired from the small travel company I have been running here since 1997 - just me, a Land Rover, and Romania's fabulous nature, wildlife, mountains and rural culture!

The house dates from 1860 and is half "Saxon" / half Romanian, located on the edge of a small Saxon village in the Olt Valley, just 15km north of Brasov city. The Carpathian Mountains and several National Parks are only 30 kms away. This is a superb area for bird watching, wildlife, rural culture and discovering the history of the Saxon settlers in Transylvania.

I have 3300 m2 of land with fruit trees, vines, raspberries, and a paddock currently farmed by a local farmer. Please note that I am NOT a farmer, gardener, nor a DIY expert - so there is plenty to do for willing helpers!

There is a guest room in the main house, a room in an adjoining cottage, and plenty of camping space for guests - all on a share / help / exchange basis.

Secure parking space in courtyard for a car, Land Rover, caravan or campervan. Water is from a well, pumped into the house. It's clean and drinkable, but in limited supply! Indoor shower room with hot water, plus 1 indoor and 1 outdoor toilet. Electricity is nominally 220 volts and there is full free broadband WiFi. I have one mountain bike available (needs a tyre repair!).

I live alone and am a non-smoker (but if you smoke you can do so outside). I am anti-racist and not religious but I respect other peoples' religious views. I eat mostly vegetarian food but am happy for you to cook meat if you wish! I am fully involved in Romanian rural life.

My courtyard is totally enclosed and secure, so I happily accept people with children, and/or well-behaved dogs. Dogs not indoors though!

I can also offer free travel advice and support, and can teach Romanian (and English!) to foreign visitors.

I used to work with disabled children in UK and Romania, later with so-called "abandoned" children in Romania with whom I still have some contact.

Recently I have retired from running my own small tour and travel company. "Roving Romania" offered tours primarily by Land Rover, taking people to unusual destinations not frequented by other tourists. I still plan to run occasional tours over the next 2 years for people with special interests.

I am also a founder and honorary member of the Association of Ecotourism in Romania (www.eco-romania.ro) and a photographer with photos published in various guidebooks about Romania and other countries (Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Insight Guides, etc). I speak and write fluent Romanian, teach English on a voluntary basis to the staff of a steam railway in the north of Romania, and can teach you some Romanian during your visit if you wish?

Visitors sympathetic to nature, wildlife and rural culture are welcome for short or longer periods.

Please e-mail, text or ring for more details!

Photo captions clockwise from top left:
1. Colin and Land Rover just outside Bod village.
2. My house in Bod - 2 houses and outbuildings in yard.
3. Land Rover with guests in the Parang Mountains at 2000 metres.
4. Spoonbills in the Danube Delta
5. Transylvanian Cow-wheat (Melypyrum biharenses).
6. Piatra Craiului National Park just 40 kms from Bod!

PLEASE NOTE: If you are looking through my Reviews below, you may discover a somewhat negative one from 2015! Please however also look at my reply, the link for which follows that review ("View Hosts Reply to this Review"). You may also wish to see the corresponding review that I posted for the HelpX-ers in question!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use