Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9466
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11 acres
Persons: up to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9466
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 11, 2017

Our property is on the edge of the village of Cygnet. It is a walk of about ten minutes into the centre from our property. There are two buses daily that go into Hobart from Cygnet. Cygnet is a lovely village with some interesting shops including a number of cafés, a great bakery and two pubs. It is quite an arty little place with a great little market every other Sunday. Laurie works in Hobart during the week as a computer professional and is a keen cyclist. I am retired from teaching and I now do a little bit of work as a civil celebrant. I also do some voluntary work with a a circular economy group, meals on wheels and help organise the local folk festival. I also row, garden and sing. We have recently done extensive renovations to the house and it is now very comfortable. The Helpx accommodation consists of a double bedroom with an ensuite. Our little farm is very beautiful but needs lots of work in the garden particularly and around the property generally. We are learning about permaculture and are hoping to try and introduce some permaculture principles into our property There are horses, donkeys,chickens, three sheep and we have two lovely, friendly dogs called Ella and Daisy on the farm. We are in the process of setting up a vegetable garden so there's plenty to do outside. We really need people who are happy to do quite physical work outside. We have three grown up children who all live in Hobart but who come down to visit us. Andrew(30), Thom (28) and Molly (23).
We are vegetarians and non smokers. We have had a number of HelpXers come and stay with us and we loved having them as part of our family.We prefer to have two people together.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use