help exchange   Host 95318
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sihanoukville
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 95318
Country: Cambodia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 19, 2019

As of the end of November......

> We are a newly opened art space where people can come and create, join workshops, run workshops, make products, make art, make a mess.
> We are a gallery space for people to share their work and for others to come and enjoy it.
> We are a shop where we sell vintage, 2nd hand, upcycled and handmade clothes, jewellery, artwork or anything else artists would like to sell.
> We are a bar by night and a healing tea shop in the day.
> We are a home, we have long term accommodation available for like minded creative's and makers to leave their mark on the place and help us fill its potential.

We are located on the idyllic island of Koh Rong Samloem in Mípai Bai village in the south of Cambodia.

*What is required*
We need help with the day to day running of our gallery, bar and shop.
In the day time the gallery, bar and shop will be open serving herbal tea and snacks so we will need one of us to be around to serve customers and assist people in the shop (everything will be priced and Hydi will be in the studio most days to help if needed). Then in the evenings we will be serving simple alcoholic drinks which will require someone to be behind the bar.

We are asking for someone to work around 4 - 6 hours a day with 2 days off a week. This is really flexible as to when we will need someone to work as Nic and Hydi will also be working the bar and shop around working in their studios.

Ideally we would like to be closed on Monday's so that we can all have some time off together or so that we can have a break and catch up on work if we need to.


*Accomodation*
We have a single private room available for our volunteer in a house shared with Hydi and Nic (the 2 owners) plus 1 other person who will be renting our 4th private bedroom. We have 2 shared bathrooms, one is mostly for customers but the other is strictly for the members of the house.

We have a pretty good sized shared kitchen and living space at the back of the property plus we have the front bar area you can chill in and then of course, the grand hall (the studio and shop) there is a communal table/workspace for people to use to get creative.

For meals we can offer breakfast and an evening meal which will be prepared by one of the members of the house so if you love to cook that would also be an amazing skill to share with us. Ideally we would share the cooking and all eat together, especially in the evenings. We mostly eat and cook veggie but meat is allowed especially as we cook for the dogs quite often too.

We would really appreciate some help keeping all of the communal areas clean as well.


*The local area*
We are less than a minute away from the beach front where you can swim, sunbathe, sit in a bar or cafe or you can walk 5 minutes through a jungle path to long beach where there is a massive stretch of secluded beach that you can enjoy.

There are shops just next door selling a range of groceries, fresh veggies, bread and essentials. We have a big supply boat that comes around sunset everyday with all the supplies for the island, it is definitely an experience not to miss to go and pick up supplies, that is also something we will need some help with from time to time. Because we are a small village on an island we donít have everything including a cash machine so it is strongly advised that you make sure you bring a good amount of cash with you. We do have the opportunity to get cash out through PayPal in a nearby bar but there is a small charge. You can also hop on one of the speed boats and visit an ATM on mainland, there is also a supermarket and local market which you can visit to buy more luxury things you canít get on the island or where you can buy things a little bit cheaper. The market is well worth a visit too just to see the culture and squeeze down the narrow aisles to see all the weird and wonderful delights.

In your time off there are a few adventures that you can go on. We have boat trips, snorkeling spots, waterfalls, jungle treks, kayaks and a diving centre.


* We also have 2 dogs (plus we are dog siting for one for a few more weeks) and a cat so an animal lover would be a great addition to the house. And smoking is also allowed anywhere in the house as it is very well ventilated.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use