Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9573
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Isle of Man
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 9573
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 3, 2016

The Isle of Man is a beautiful and unusual place. An independant celtic island, it's got tons of history, views, wildlife and coastline. I'm 38 and have a 18yr old agroforestry project.. fruit and nut trees, forest garden etc. Accomodation includes a gypsy caravan and turf roofed cabin, both with woodburners. There's a hot shower, compost loo, 12V electric and mains water so it's comfortable. Nearest bus 10 mins walk, nearest town 20 mins on a bike. Nearest beach 10 mins on a bike.
I am part of a 'spread out' community so our collective skills are many.. Growing food, green woodwork, yurt-making, spinning, weaving and natural dyes. Music, dancing, alternative building and technology. Help needed with these as well as maintanence and creativity all year.
Hours of work are flexible depending on whether you are camping / self-catering / catered for and what facilities are required. For example, a minimum of 1 or 2 days and a maximum of 4 or 5 days per week. I usually only do a six hour day anyway, so if you just wanted to camp and use my shower & loo then a day would be great. But if you want the full-on cabin/sightseeing/all meals provided etc then the maximum would apply.
I must say I would prefer to provide the food but not to cook it (and so might you once you've tasted my cooking!) and this would mean an extra day off.
A very general list of help needed would be:- DIY, painting, gardening (both light weeding in the forest garden and heavier work in the main field), tidying (outdoor and indoor), green woodwork, chopping wood, planting trees etc, as well as more artistic and creative input.
Usually, all I recommend bringing is yourselves. I have ample bedding and can usually find suitable outdoor gear, but some waterproof shoes would be sensible.
Travel is usally best on the ferry (from Heysham,Liverpool or Dublin), see 01624 661661. Sail'n'Rail deals can be found and can be booked at most major UK railway stations..

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use