help exchange   Host 96074
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Avonwick, South Devon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 2-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 96074
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2020

Not long moved onto our new farm, a 26 acre small holding in the beautiful south hams area of South Devon about 10 minutes drive to Dartmoor and 25 minutes to the beach and close to the amazing and very alternative and interesting town of Totnes. We need a hand in getting things set up. This will include helping to work on the old barn and make it into a better space to work in (any carpentry/building type skills would be great but don't worry if not). Then we have lots of poultry (chickens, ducks, turkeys and geese) and 17 pigs to look after/muck out/sort pens and houses for and would like to get set up for the arrival of sheep and maybe alpacas or Llamas and a couple of small cows in the future plus lots to do in the vegetable area etc. etc. We would like to build a Cob and glass greenhouse (subject to getting planning approval) too so anyone with Cob building experience would be amazing. Ideally we would be looking for someone who has their own accommodation (camper or caravan) as currently we have no other accommodation. We are living in a static caravan ourselves. We do have a second static caravan which with a bit of love could be made very cosy too but is currently housing items of furniture etc that we don't have storage space for yet and even once clear will need double glazing putting in and laminate flooring, work on the walls and painting. This could be another project for a volunteer to help with though. I am not vegetarian but do care about where meat comes from and can accommodate to a certain extent any dietary requirements. We have also in the past just paid volunteers a food allowance and they have bought their own food and cooked for themselves with the occasional shared meal. Open to discussing these arrangements. Any help for however long or short would be hugely appreciated. With the Covid situation having your own accommodation would be great, but we're pretty isolated anyway and have lots of space to keep things sensible.
The vision is do get organic status and do things in keeping with nature and the environment. We'd like to get to a point where we can invite the public to visit and get a bit of a community vibe going, hosting events, school groups and maybe running courses.
A bit about me...I was born locally but have spent over 20 years away with work and being closer to my two boys in Shropshire but took the plunge a couple of years ago to come back to Devon...and I love it here. I am ex military and an ex primary teacher and have worked in outdoor adventure education and run forest school. I am sociable and like having good people around but will not tolerate drugs at all or excessive alcohol. I wish to keep my farm customer facing and develop something inviting, clean and tidy. I like attention to detail and things being done right so ideally looking for people who also wish to aspire to look after the land well, and do any work with care and attention. I am half German so can speak German if helpers would find that useful. I have a passion for the outdoors, love growing own produce and keeping animals.
I also have a business doing stuff with Campervans too so this may be useful to people who have their own van or caravan. My partner lives here for some of the time and she is also passionate about the environment and doing things ethically. She is a secondary school teacher and artist.
Please get in touch if this is something you feel you'd be interested in.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use