Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9750
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes (if not travelling)
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 5 (winter only 1-2)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9750
Country: Czech Republic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 12, 2017

UPDATE 2017 - best time to visit is MARCH-APRIL:
Am away and maybe I return in Feb, maybe in Mar.
Most likely I will leave again in early May
It is possible for someone who I have felt good about dealing with the household while we are there in spring together to borrow the house for the summer, if I leave.

Best check available dates with me by phone
(I am often without any internet access).

I always welcome helpers who do not need much of my time. Most welcome are people who will either run the home (kitchen, cleaning) or can do house-repairs/maintenance etc, or can give my aching body (especially back) a massage!
In (late Aug)-Sept-early Oct a bit of fruit picking and preserving would be the main job. Another form of help can be massaging the always aching back of your host! Enough free time for your walks, reading or creative work is available - I do not count hours you helped.

HOME: Stone house in a garden with fruit trees (and sometimes a very small vegetable-bed) used for own consumption. I live alone in a several-bedroom house on the edge of a very small village surrounded by fields and woods

Slightly less civilized than is standard in EU - scroll down for learning everything that might feel like lack of comfort to some. All that I do not write about is just WONDERFUL HERE!


I wish to be a kind personality, love every living being is my goal. Some people really enjoy me, some less, some not at all - the secret is that it depends on the level of my being tired and on the sufficient dose of time spent alone :)
I do not want to be overly involved in the rat race, in consumerism. The way I live I find "middle way" (so orthodox ecologists will find me too "consumerist", some mainstreem people maybe still might think of me as "extreme", though it seems no more the case)
I am just trying to live with as little harm to nature and as little involvement in all the violence committed for us to have cheap commodities as I can do without feeling tense. (Past experiences have shown that when I was a kind of fundamentalist ecologist, living with aboslutely no pollution, no outside resources usage, I was too negativistic, not smiling often - and that is a harm to surroundings, and myself, too)
The above is one of the reasons I have no job. The other one being a bit weak health (I am pensioned on account of chronic tiredness). This means my active part of the day is shorter (and sleeping longer) than average. As result I am constantly busy, for I just have more tasks than people with jobs who pay for ready-made things and services and less time plus less efficiency in carrying them out. Still I like to use the whole of my "day" for things that are urgent, or good to do. (Fitting in some meditation or music making is good too). Just be prepared that you'll be alone some time in the evening or morning or both - I cannot keep pace with people who have normal energy. You may have to be quiet in those periods (depending which part of the house you are in)


I welcome visitors who want to help with any of the following (while I do the other):

a) everyday household chores
(keeping fire / cooking / cleaning)
b) making firewood
(sawing / carrying / seasonally logging)

c) the garden
(picking fruits / mowing / weeding if any)

d) house repairs
(e.g. plaster / cement / roof insulation)

e) personal help
(back massage!)

The jobs (apart from daily chores) are mainly:

- mowing grass
- weeding vegetable beds (if I have any)
- picking and drying herbs


- picking walnuts, plums, pears, apples
- processing the fruits (boiling jam, drying)
- raking leaves
- mowing

- cutting and carrying firewood (home or forest)
- construction (if YOU are experienced - I am not)
- house repairs and reconstruction:
masoning around new windows
roof insulation (by mineral "wool")
- chasing out mice :)
- catching a marten
(looking for one who could rid me of this beast:)

Or any other support while I do those works (due to chronical tiredness after basic "jobs" I often do not manage to do anything else). I especially highly value back massage! (Or occassionally you might do some organizing stuff on internet for me - I happily leave the PC to do something outdoors :)

It is also helpful to be quiet when I need silence (I appreciate if you make me feel OK to ask for silence whenever needed)

I do not set a fixed working time. I have something to do all the time and yet I respect the need of rest, doing one owns stuff.
You become part of the house so I'd simply expect you to share what needs to be done (sometimes less, sometimes more, sometimes more tiring, sometimes stuff that is more relaxation than work - e.g. sorting grain like Cinderella :). You certainly do not get overworked here. (But if you are of no help either for all the time you are here, I may soon realize it is just better to keep space for my solitude) Neither you will get bored here, if physical activity (from work to walks) or focused relaxation (shall we meditate together, make music?) is all you need. People who need parties, pubs, dancing, and all this kind of "life" are likely to be bored here. But if bored, it's a sign you could have helped me more, or have fun with me more - I NEVER feel bored here

In exchange for your help I offer a humble accommodation and basic foodstuffs - you get what I get, I like it :)

Before you apply, be warned that the accommodation is quite basic! (Do not imagine your mother's care :)
Hot shower and washing machine available, but no indoors toilet! There's only a dry toilet outhouse =we expose our bum to the winter cold:)
The house is relatively cool even in summer. In winter, if we work well to have enough dry firewood, we get the living room perfectly warm. In the morning it will be cooler. In the cold part of the year, if you wanna sleep in warm room (I do not), you need to sleep in the living room/kitchen so it is not much privacy (the warm room is a living space for you as well as me)

Shower is heated by sun or by firewood. (So, ocassionaly we have to wait a bit)

If you do the other work needed that day, I may cook simple vegetarian meals or bake home-made bread. If I am busy with other work, your main helper task could be the kitchen work. (cooking on wood stove or gas cylinder)
I provide what I eat = humble vegetarian food. Only partly organic.
Around September, much of our meals consist of fruits (plums, apples, pears). After October I have no fruits of my own (just jams; and walnuts), so all veggies and fruits we buy are from conventional produce, NOT organic.
Normally I eat some grains (rice, wheat, buckwheat, oats), pasta (wholemeal organic), bread (wholemeal organic), legumes (lentils, beans), potatoes, farm eggs.
I drink tap water, tea and herbal tea. Coffee is usually also available (freshly ground). I do not use cow milk, but can make oat-milk.
I hope that's fine for you too. If you need other stuff than I eat I am not sure I can afford providing it, if that is important, ask me ahead.


I love to sing and/or play guitar (so you are welcome to ask/join). I have a good collection of CDs with ethnic music and with early European polyphony, bit of jazz and flamenco too. But silence is the preferred need, so we switch music off as soon as you or me want silence

Some language learning tools and indology books in English available here. (Occasionally a title or two of fiction left by previous guests)

Internet available. But use it moderately, this is not a place for computer freaks. No TV here.
Swimming (fishing) possible in the big lake 8 km from here. Horse riding (ca 10/hr) few km from here. Sauna on weekends in November-March/April (I can afford to invite you :). Professional masseur can be visited (12/hr). If you are an experienced rock-climber, I'll be happy to borrow gear and go together somewhere (myself beginner).

Cycling (now I have only 1 bicycle + 2 broken by Australian helpXers)

cross country ski (old ski available, bring shoes "Nordic norm 75mm")

In summer only: Castles Orlik and Zvikov in the district

Sorry, I have no car anymore, so you need to rely on buses, your feet, or own vehicle. Or my bicycle

Pub not available in the village (nearest 2km)
(I had some uneasy time when helpers returned after evening in pub - so never more!)

If all this sounded deterring to you, keep in mind that I wanted to sound a bit deterring, to avoid disappointments with people who do not really belong here. In fact, all I haven't mentioned is just wonderful here and if you can adjust a little I may turn out to be a very nice person to be with :)

Bus to my village leaves Prague from metro stop "Andel" or tram stop "Na Knizeci".
See bus connections on
- fill destination as "Lasovice Kovarov"
(Not only "Lasovice" - that is elsewhere!)

Detailed description on arriving by public transport from Prague:


Tram stop "Na Knizeci" or metro stop "Andel"

If you come by metro, exit the platform to the "Zenske domovy" side. The escalator (automatic stairway) brings you up to a foyer and here you go straight and take the last stairs on the left. This brings you directly to the platform No.2 (If you see only one exit that leads to a crossing with shopping centres, you exit to the different side from the platform)

If you came by tram direct to the "Na Knizeci" stop, you just go few steps back and find yourself directly at the bus terminus. Find No.2 platform.

You want a bus direction MILEVSKO. (pron. "mill-eff-sko")
You want a ticket to LASOVICE (pron. "lush-o-vitseh")
The ticket will cost around 100 Czk plus 10 per backpack

Up past the church, further 700m straight, after a WOODEN hut on the left (with white house on the right) turn left on dirt road. 3rd=last house (gate with the white wheel on it)

Click the blue "large map" link under my address - that map points to my house, when enlarged.

Or arrange with me for picking you up at the bus. (And hope I do not forget to be there on time :-)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use