Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9805
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: March 2015 only
Area (ha): urban farmlet
Persons: a couple plus one
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 9805
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 1, 2016

I live in an urban area in a single level house with a small amount of land. I am also part of a community garden. I produce lots of vegetables, and also have chickens which I use as compost makers and egg producers. We also have a cat so if you are allergic to cats, please know that the cat is here to stay.
Mostly I would need help in the garden - either mine or the community garden or with cooking and cleaning and maybe preserving food. There will also be general maintenance. I would expect 4 - 5 hours work a day in return for food and board. Breakfast and lunch are supplied - you will have to be responsible for your own dinner.
The gardening is real gardening, not just playing with weeds. You need to be strong and have some previous knowledge. I produce most of my own fresh veges. I really do need help to manage it all. I prefer short stays meaning up to a week at a time but this can be longer if everyone gets on well. We are close to the train and bus and it is a 10 minute ride to the local town. A library and medical centre with a pharmacy are a 5 minute walk away. For those interested in bush walks, the Waitakere ranges are just up the road as are the wild west coast beaches - a little further
(20 minutes by car).
I make cheese, bake bread, sew clothes and spin wool and this year we made soap from olive oil. I like people with initiative, expect work to start before midday and insist on 10 minutes showers so water is not wasted.
There is an opportunity to contribute to the community by volunteering at the local community centre. Be prepared for anything. I am looking for a single person or a couple who can share a room in my house and be sensitive to the fact that there is only one bathroom that we all have to use it.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use