help exchange   Host 98716
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bundaberg
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 98716
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 17, 2020

Hi! My name is Natalie and my husbandís name in Damien. We are a youngish couple who have just bought our first house on 34 acres just outside Bundaberg, a small town in Queensland, on the East Coast of Australia. Most of the acreage is natural bush with endless trees and kangaroos!

Our house is a 75-year-old Queenslander in a semi-rural area. Both the house and the property need a bit of TLC and we would absolutely love some help! Therefore, we are looking for someone who has experience with home renovations or a possible tradie such as a builder, carpenter, electrician, plumber, or landscaper (or someone who is a good worker, quick to learn and is good at visualising).

We are passionate travellers and have travelled to over 50 countries together. We both love to explore new cultures and to meet people from a variety of backgrounds. We would describe ourselves as hardworking but also easy going and adaptable. We have been Helpers ourselves in a few countries so we have experienced what itís like to be a helper (and have some ideas on how to make your stay more memorable).

Damien is a fitter and turner and I am a secondary teacher (English, English as an Additional Language, history, and geography). We work hard but when we are not working Damien likes to go mountain bike riding and go to car shows. Whereas I like to practise yoga and meditate. We both like being outdoors and often go for walks, go to the beach, or go for a bike ride. You are more than welcome to join us for any or all of these activities!

Smoking severely affects Damienís health, so for that reason, we will not be able to accept smokers at our property. Sorry!

Help & Hours Required:

We are looking for volunteers to help for 5 hrs a day, 5 days a week in exchange for food and accommodation.

As our house is tired and old and needs to updated. At present, we are planning to convert one of the rooms into an ensuite, update the kitchen and possibly the bathroom, stain the deck, and fix up the floorboards in the living room but this will all depend on the skill set of the Helper.

Also, the garden is big and needs some weeding and landscaping. We plan to plant some fruit trees and build vegie gardens, mowing the grass, build a chook pen, create an irrigation system, and clear some weeds from the bush.

People with basic building skills is highly desired but there is lots to do for people with no experience, like weeding, digging holes, planting plants, possible painting. Alternatively, I would also love someone from Latin America to help me with my Spanish or someone who can teach me the ukulele.

The majority of the help we seek is helping with house renovations, gardening and general labouring help. This is physical, hands on, and therefore you need to be reasonably fit and strong. Flexible hours in exchange for nice accommodation and food.

When you write to us, please indicate where your skillset lies and what youíd be interested in doing and we will try to accommodate.

Cultural exchange and learning opportunities:

Be surrounded by peaceful bush land, see kangaroos in the backyard, learn about Australia and if you like, practice your English or deepen your yoga practice with a qualified English and yoga teacher!

Around the property during the day, you can go for solitary walks in the bush with the birds and kangaroos, read a book or chill out in the entertainment area, play pool, take pictures of the sunsets, and enjoy the peace and quiet.

After a dayís work, spend the evening sharing travel stories and photos while sitting around the camp fire and gazing up at the stars in our peaceful bush setting. Eat some seafood or join us for a typical Aussie BBQ.

We are also happy for you to join us on the weekends for outings to the beach or river, bike rides, walks, etc. but if you prefer to do your own thing, we can also guide you to the points of interest within our area.

Simply put, we offer a typical Australian life style.

Accommodation:

We have one room for visitors with a queen-sized bed that can sleep one or two people comfortably, however you will be sharing a bathroom with us (until we get that ensuite built!)

We have a decent sized living room and an outdoor entertainment area with a bar, pool table and spa (once we get them up and running again).

We also have a big kitchen and a wide veranda. We can share meals or you can do your own cooking, either way we will supply the food. We are already semi-vegetarian so we are more than happy go full vegetarian or vegan for the right person (as long as you share some recipes with us and help out with the cooking). We usually expect you to get your own breakfast and lunch from our supplies and we will all eat together in the evening and share some of the cooking/ cleaning up.

We are also open to setting up a large tent with a comfortable mattress for those who'd prefer to be outdoors. You would still be sharing the inside bathroom with us and all other spaces inside the house would be avaiable to you.

What else ...

There is no public transport nearby, so having your own car would be ideal. However, we are happy to pick you up from Bundaberg when you arrive and drop you back when you depart. We are also happy to take you with us when we are heading into town or for you to join us on weekend activities. Itís compeltely up to you. :)

Bundaberg is home to some beautiful beaches. Our favourite is Mon Repos Beach, where turtles come to shore to lay their eggs. If you come during the right season you will be able to see the big ones and/or the baby turtles. There is a walkway that follows the coastline all along, great for walking, jogging or bike riding. Bargara is another nice beach with shops, cafes and restaurants.

From Bundaberg you can take a boat to Lady Musgrave Island, at the start of the Great Barrier Reef, travel to the biggest sand island, Fraser Island, or visit the Bundy Bear at the Bundaberg Rum distillery. If you arrive during whale watching season (August-Nov), you can also go whale watching.

We sometimes go out on a friend's boat fishing and enjoying the fantastic weather, you are also welcome to join us if we head out during your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Natalie and Damien

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use