Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9882
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 9882
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 18, 2016

We - my daughter, dog, 4 cats and two house chickens, 3 horses, are living on what used to be a hospital complex which had and still has some beautiful grounds.

A few years ago we had the unique opportunity to occupy one of the buildings, but unfortunately it's going to be taken down end of September to make place for a community center next year. So we are now in the process of moving to one of the other buildings on the same site at present.

It's a project with a lot of potential, converting it into living and working space is something that I have not done before, so feel quite excited of what is possible with the space we got.

Already we have made a lot of progress thanks to a number of great HelpX-ers - thank you all! - but now we're looking for people who preferable have got experience with turning an industrial space into a living space on a low budget.
This may be something for people who like to use re-usable materials, of which there is quite a lot on site. And also are into using recyclable materials.

My plan is to make it into a very welcoming living/working place that's an inspiration of what can be done with large buildings. So any creative minds and ideas are welcomed!

The complex was disused for 8 years but currently being converted into a prestigious retirement village. So it's part old buildings with history and part that is being converted into a retirement village.

Because we are still in the process of moving and building, we require people who are flexible and okay with a bit of organised chaos, happy to chip in and are self starters.

We are 5 minutes drive from Levin that has cinema, great library, shops etc., river and Kimberley reserve, great walks in the area, up the hills etc if you're into hiking, and the beach is only about 20 minutes away

I am a natural health-therapist for humans and animals, and run a clinic from home. I have a lively interest in personal growth and development. Am also into natural horsemanship,tho through circumstances & busy life-style have not been able to do too much with my horses for a while.
At the moment we are looking for people who can help out with all kinds of things as we're in the process of moving, clearing up the new garden, cleaning the new building etc etc to make it into a welcoming place for people to hang out.

I would like people who have a bit of oompf, practical, know how to look after gardens and animals, are responsible and self-starters as I don't have the time to show and teach a lot...

Also I want to stress out that I do not have space for people who are in need of help with their health problems or have mental health issues. Happy to give advice etc but am not in a position to be looking after people or nursing people....

I love cooking from scratch, so a good meal and daily freshly made juices/smoothies are always guaranteed! Converted 99.9% into vegetarianism and changing over to more raw food diet(with very occasional a little bit of salmon in sushi's). Daughter is still a meat eater so if you are happy to cook/share meat together with her than that's fine!

We would like someone who can help out for 4-6 hours for a minimum of one week, that would be great.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use