Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 9919
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: July
Area (ha): 24
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 9919
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 30, 2013

Hi ! We urgently need a volunteer between Jeuly 1 and July 17 to help with gardening and construction work as we are preparing to host summer camps and the bad weather means we have a whole backlog of work. Full accomodation provided, good food, nice work in a beautiful environment with hosts speaking french, spanish and english.

This is a beautiful 24 ha property: 5,5 ha of lovely oak forest and 18,5 of undulating pastures with many trees and a small river at the lower end. We raise lusitanian horses and develop an eco-holiday resort with children camps, which means a lot of work for renovation, organic gardening, etc. etc.

The location: 3km away from the cutest village on earth, Lagraulet du Gers, with its medieval tower and ditch.

The farm: The land was cultivated under intensive farming and the soil is quite degraded, so in order to regenerate it we have converted it to organic pastures where we raise horses (2 foals this year !). Last year we cultivated organic hemp to provide insulation for our house. We also have a small organic garden and orchard with lovely fruit trees and chicken. This have replanted 700 trees as part of a plan to convert to "agroforestry", the combination of agriculture and trees.

Type of helpers needed: We need helpers for renovating/redecorating the main building and to help with work around the farm, the organic garden and forest. we need both experienced or inexperienced helpers, dynamic and autonomous. We expect an average of 4-5 hours of work a day, but this may vary with the workload of the farm

Accomodation provided: You will stay in a small house on the property, which has two newly renovated bedrooms upstairs, with electric heating, each with two 90 cm beds with comfortable mattresses and bed sheets provided. It is basic but clean and comfortable. Downstairs there is a small dining room with basic kitchen appliances, fridge, etc, and a shower room with dry toilet. The house has a nice view over the farm and countryside, it is very calm and private. You will do the housekeeping by yourself and keep the house nice and clean. No smoking within the house, please.

If you are alone and prefer to stay closer to our house we also have a nice camper van, clean and comfortable, in which you can sleep, and then you can share all meals with us.

Food: the basic arrangement would be to share one of the meals with us everyday, and then you may cook and take the other meal and breakfast in your house. We pay for all the food and cooking ingredients.

About us : we are a couple aged 47 and 56, young minded and very dynamic. We live with our two small children.We have travelled a lot to Asia, South America, Africa, Spain, so we are open minded and speak english and spanish. We welcome foreigners as guest. We like reading, music and movies. We love exchanges, conversation, etc. but as a family we also need some intimacy so we expect that our guests will be happy to spend part of their time with us and part of their time alone.

If you have more questions : write to us !

Anne and Jean (John)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use