help exchange   Host 10092
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Rileys Hill
All Year: flexable
Area (ha): .61
Persons: 1 maybe 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10092
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 2, 2018

We are particularly seeking help with simple daily chores of living in a family house on a rural property. There is plenty of easy inside and out side work available. A cleaning organizing domestic angel who is child friendly would be fantastic! OR some one who likes gardening, or has renovation experience, painting or building, sanding tiling, landscaping ... most of all I like to have people who have initiative, who want to be here and are willing to help out as best they can. Attitude, initiative and endurance means a lot!
we look after those who try their best to be helpful, and don't exploit us.

We have built our own home on a 1.5 acre property and are establishing permaculture gardens, we are also slowly renovating an old cane cutters cottage. We are next to the beautiful Broadwater national park and attract lots of wild life including koalas, wallabies, goannas, echidners, bandicoots, native birds, pythons, spiders etc. We are in close proximity to the beautiful coastal town of Evans head and its surf beaches. walking distance to a spring fed water hole and the Richmond river. The closest beach is 7km via road. The closest shop is 3km in Broadwater. Evans Head is 15 minuets drive, which has lovely swimming/surf beaches and walks, local buses are available or we often drive there, Byron Bay is 1hr drive north. which we can drop guests off for the day and pick them up at the end of day, or we can take guest on family social outings. We have bikes,kayak,musical instruments,surf boards, friendly neighborhood, movies, bush walks,flexible dietary options + more.
Accommodation varies to suit circumstances. We aim to sleep our guest in a lovely retro clean and tidy caravan close to the house, It has running water electricity gas cooker, a double bed, couch and table inside. it is warm comfortable and very cute. like a miniature flat. We also have a charming rustic, sealed sleep out shack, nestled among the trees at the far end of the block.

Our place is pretty quiet and peaceful and green. We live a healthy lifestyle best we can, eat mainly organic quality meat and vegies. But happy to purchase any food request with in budget and reason. Most days, our guest prepare their own breakfast and lunch with specific food provided, and we share a evening meal all together. We adopt sustainable practices where possible. We have two daughters (11yrs and 4 years old).
We have mobile ph reception and wi fi internet. pick up and drop off's can be arranged. Our closest major bus stop is Woodburn, 15 minute drive on the pacific highway. the local buses also come to Rileys Hill weekdays. We often go to other major towns on certain days of the week like Byron, Ballina and Lismore. we can coordinate pick up prior to arrival if you need.

The help we require, varies on the skills and interest of our guest and our priorities at the time. Assistance needed may include tasks like, dishes, vacuming, folding and hanging washing, gardening, weeding and mulching gardens, domestic assistance, cleaning, pretty much all the little time consuming jobs that are hard for us to find time for, or every day chores, that free us up some spare time to complete other tasks and projects or share more leisure time. We have built our own home and are now up to the finishing touches as well as rebuilding a seperate old timber cottage on the property.the renovation help we need for the cottage includes sanding, painting, laboring with builders and other trades men, tiling, sight tidy up, feeding and caring for the chickens, wippersnippering, bush regeneration on koala habitat, gardening mulching watering plants .....We pretty much find jobs to suit peoples ability and interest. There are many projects to choose from. often when possible, we work on jobs together as team, but some task will require you to carry on independently. I don't want the job of having to motivate our guest every day and constantly ask for help. there is plenty of easy work just to get on with.

We have a three year old. She is is supper cute and happy but supper busy, some times loud and messy so some help around the house with domestics, cleaning, vacuuming meal preparation, dishes, hanging and folding washing, playing games with our 11 year old, home work motivation, plus other little odd jobs around the house or yard would be greatly appreciated. like a nanny or au pair.
This situation would probably suit a person who enjoys playing, is flexible with hrs, is easy going, trustworthy, honest, understands English, responsible, creative, has initiative, is wiling to assist in helping create a clean tidy organised loving and nurturing joyful home. We appreciate those who take pride and care in what they do, complete jobs, and put tools and cleaning equipment away after use!

We usually organise a week stay and then negotiate longer stays if we are all happy living together, I'm sure that would suit guests too.
I ask that no one brings alcohol or drugs with them, and if smoking do it away from our general living area and dispose of buts in the rubbish please. we are also very sensitive to chemicals that includes strong artificial perfumes and fragrance so please refrain.:) well with all the gritty bits out of the way we look forward to meeting new friends and sharing stories, culture and our bit of our natural paradise.
Feel free to email me with any questions :)
joyful travels

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use