help exchange   Host 10669
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes, minimum stay 2 weeks
Area (ha): 13
Persons: 1 or 2 sharing room
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 10669
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 21, 2017


Requirement two or three weeks in April/May, gardening and some building work.

I live on a farm with two stupid dogs and a cat. The farm is situated in an isolated spot on the Contraviesa near Orgiva on the edge of the Alpujarras, in the Costa Tropical, Andalucia. The farm overlooks the Mediterranean with the Sierra Nevada behind. On a bus route with access to both the coast and Granada. Accommodation is similar to a hotel room with double bed and en suite bathroom, with hot and cold water and central heating (useful in the winter!). Wifi available (note only wifi). Nice bar about a kilometer away. The area has great walking either locally or in the mountains of the Sierra Nevada. The coast is more Spanish than the Costa
del Sol. The closest main towns are either Granada or Motril, with the smaller town of Orgiva a twenty minute
bus journey away (bus goes past house). Granada is a fantastic place and the
Alhambra is a must, Motril is a major port on the coast
and is a great place for the freshest of fish.

I do try to make sure the helper is included in my outings and limited social life to get to know the area. My Spanish is limited but there is always an opportunity to improve yours at the local bar.

At the moment I'm looking for a helper(s) to help with general gardening and some basic building work.

Basically its 25 hours a week.
The current work plan is start at 9:30 and finish at 2:30 (but I am flexible), Monday to Friday, with weekend free. Lunch is straight after work and then dinner at about 7.
I do not mind, as long as it fits with the project,
if you want to do longer hours in the week to have a longer weekend break.

The work is quite physical so you must be quite fit. I do not expect any prior experience it is important that you are interested in it.

To get here get a bus to Orgiva
(website for bus services in English or Spanish is and I will pick you up.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use