help exchange   Host 10736
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Valleraugue
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20 ha, 7000m2 cultivated
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 10736
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 6, 2019

We farm organic vegetables and we bread Tamworth pigs ( a very rare bread)in the Cevennes alongside the river l`Herault and have been hosting volunteers for over 10 years, which has generated many lasting friendships. We are about to attack some new projectsso.........any helpxers out here interested in joining?
Our crops are grown on mountain terraces and sold in our two communal farmshops, together with the meat from our pigs. (Montpellier and Nimes - see facebook) and during the summer months we take part in several evening winefestivals where we cook `onion bhaji`s`. Very popular. We are part of a small farmer run abattoir where animal welfare is top of the list.

We are renovating many of the old stone buildings. We both have a lot of experience in building with previouis careers in interior design, renovation, carpentry and joinery.

HOUSING: sleeping arrangements are basic, we have 2 caravans (small trailers) set up on the land for our volunteers + a summer outdoor kitchen on. Dry toilet/outdoor shower (cold water only) So things might be basic but .... In the summer we have a max of 3 volunteers at a time. A lot of laughter, discussions, hard work and good fun.
Hosting people can be very rewarding apart from the obvious help that it brings. We take our lunch and dinner together in our family kitchen.

We need people with a decent amount of common sense and be able to take responsibilities and show initiative. Absolute minimum stay 2/3 weeks. The terrain is rough, you have to be able to cope with brambles, stingy mettles, insects, and ofcourse our pigs. We have cats and dogs and eat nuts! Although we eat meat we can easily cope with vegans and vegetarians. In fact our longest staying volunteer (1 Year, was a vegan). Look forward to hearing from you! We look forward to hearing from you.

reviews (5)
Helper: Scott Mackay Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: October 5, 2017
So where do I start! Absolutely without a shadow of a doubt best family in th... view complete review

Helper: Macadia and Hsiang-yeh Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Singapore Date: September 14, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at Elizabeth's. It was our first helpx experiec... view complete review

Helper: Sixue WANG Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: August 26, 2016
I spent 2 weeks with Elizabeth and her family, that was amaaaaazing!! They ar... view complete review

Helper: Cipriano CANALES Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Mexico Date: July 28, 2016
I have an amazing experience staying in La Clede. Elizabeth, Paul and their f... view complete review

Helper: Laura Wormington Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 18, 2016
I had a wonderful time staying at Elizabeth and Paul's little farm in the mou... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use