help exchange   Host 10798
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Forster / Great Lakes
All Year: March - October
Area (ha): 4.8H or 11 Acres
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 10798
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 16, 2019

Hi HelpXers

Help needed now,
restoring wildlife habitat.
Strong, fit person preferred, 25+

Good English please.
Work hard in the morning and enjoy the wildlife and property in the afternoon.
My place is a real Australian bush experience.

I'm a licenced wildlife carer and conservationist.
My property is classed as "Land For Wildlife"

The number of animals in care varies from week to week.

In the hot weather the Eastern Water Dragons and Land Mullets sunbake on logs.

Every night a few possums roam about.

The property is 11 acres of bush with winding tracks and rain forest at the creek.
It contains a few rare native plants and there are lots of different ferns, palms, rain forest plants, vines and
very tall gum trees.
It's like fairy land down the back near the creek. Unfortunately it's a dry creek bed if there's been no rain, but still preaty.

I renovated a site office and turned it into a relocatable
home to live in until I can build a house.
A shipping container provides work shop/storage,
and a second container has been turned into clean, comfortable guest accommodation, but there is no heating or cooling so you need to be tough and live within the elements.

Helpers are allowed one square foot of wall space to be
creative and "leave there international mark"!

The property is totally self sufficient which means there
are no phone cables, no power cables, and no town water pipes..... A "stand alone" solar system, provides
electricity, water from tanks, mobile phone and wireless Internet have good reception. BRILLIANT!!
But this does mean restrictions are nessecary on power and water. Peeing outside is just one way to help.

I can pick you up from Taree Railway Station.
Also the Greyhound Buses stop at Taree South and Premier Busses stop in Nabiac.

There is no public transport close by, so your own car is a big advantage. But if you don't have one you can come
into town with me on your days off.

PLEASE NOTE: I only provide 3 meals a day, so if you want anything to snack on between meals or alcohol, they are at your expense.
Days off are at your expense.

Only 20 min drive to the beautiful Forster/Tuncurry beaches and main shopping centre.

Some of the jobs are:

Picking up Roo poo!
Lantana and Tobacco Bush removal.
Weeding the small veggie garden.
Building nest boxes.
Concreting.
Moving timber.
Painting.
Removing weedy trees

A lot of this is hard work and you will get hot, dirty and sweaty.

Our beautiful Aussie bush has flies, spiders, ticks,
leaches, snakes, lizards and more, mainly in Summer.
Please DON'T APPLY if you can't cope with these
conditions. Due to this I only book helpers in for 7-10
days to see how you go, (then it's negotiable) and each
person works 5-6 hours a day.

I have a certificate 3 in conservation and land management so I can teach you how to identify plants and correct weed removal techniques.

So, come and enjoy my little piece of paradise, meet the wildlife, learn some bush regeneration techniques, and help me improve a small patch of our Australian forest.
I find it enjoyable and rewarding, hope you will too.

Email me for more details.

Cheers, Karen.

Photo 1 My dwelling
Photo 2 Work shop, car port, Back packers accommodation.
Photo 3 Tiny Green Frogs (photo loaded sideways)
Photo 4 Section of the creek
Photo 5 Curio ( Eastern Grey Kangaroo)
Photo 6. Curio, Silvie and Regal (Eastern Greys)

reviews (11)
Helper: Sarah Schenkenberg Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 29, 2015
Dear Karen, first I want to apologise myself for writing my review so late. ... view complete review

Helper: Sarah and Benjamin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 7, 2014
Even if we stayed only 1 week at Karen's place, it was one of our best austra... view complete review

Helper: Sarah Rodrigues Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Portugal Date: July 13, 2013
Karen received my boyfriend and I for 10 days on her property near Forster. K... view complete review

Helper: Sam Pau Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Malaysia Date: May 10, 2013
Karen, I was really sorry for the late reply as now only I have a stable inte... view complete review

Helper: Jill Haberlin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 2, 2012
I was lucky enough to get to stay with Karen for 11 days and had a great time... view complete review

Helper: Christopher fleming Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 27, 2012
Well what can I say that hasn't been said already. It was a truly memorabl... view complete review

Helper: Stine Conrad Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 2, 2012
Karen is an amazing woman with a beautiful home. She is kind and truly loves ... view complete review

Helper: Camilla and Daisy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 25, 2012
We loved every bit of our stay at Karen's magical Haven. Bursting to the brim... view complete review

Helper: Lucie BOMPAR Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France, Metropolitan Date: February 6, 2012
Hi, I had an incredible experience with Karen at her place. She's a lovely w... view complete review

Helper: Calleen NEUFELD Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: August 29, 2011
I really enjoyed staying with Karen. She has a very caring heart for the anim... view complete review

Helper: Kit ying So Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: July 21, 2011
It was only a short stay (less than a week) in Karenís paradise but it was de... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use