help exchange   Host 10829
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sussex
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.12
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10829
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2019

PLEASE TAKE TIME TO READ MY PROFILE COMPLETELY BEFORE APPLYING, IT IS REGULARLY UPDATED.
We moved house very locally in April 2019, so I need help to create a new garden and maintain it .
Helpxers needed for specific times from mid February 2020; PLEASE NOTE that I am only able to offer a place to ONE Helpxer at a time.

Applicants and should be practical, flexible, independent and preferably with some knowledge of basic gardening and should also be willing to help with some cleaning, domestic chores etc., in the house

If you wish to phone the landline number, please ONLY do so in the evenings between 6pm and 9.30pm, as during the day I am not often near the phone.

Please note that I cannot take Helpxers who require a placement `for a month or two`, as I simply do not have enough work !!
Usually I need Helpxers to come for 7-10 days starting with a week (or less) and then extending it if we get along OK together and there is enough work.

Since a serious accident 13 years ago which left me with some physical disabilities, I require help with garden and property maintenance, fruit picking, home preserving, some housework, etc.
Most of the work is straightforward but it is often simply physically beyond my capabilities now; many are things I previously did single handed, so I`m happy to instruct inexperienced but enthusiastic volunteers who wish to improve their skills base.

Helpxers that are able to work alone, use their own initiative and also don`t mind some mornings alone in a rural situation are preferred, as I still attend physical rehabilitation activities several mornings a week.

We aim to be as self sufficient as possible with fruit, vegetables, herbs and poultry- we also have a friendly terrier bitch, Spice. As my husband is employed full time locally, he has limited time to help me keep pace with the workload at home which I had previously managed quite easily. I rarely ask volunteers to do anything that I have not previously done myself, but they should be willing, fit, active and able to tackle the occasional job that is a little more physically demanding, eg digging some of the garden or emptying a compost bin.

We both tend to go to bed fairly early and rise early, so prefer Helpxers who are able to `get up and get going` before 9am!

We don`t have a TV, but do have lots of books in the house- both fiction and reference - which we`re happy to lend to Helpxers. We also have broadband internet and Skype for Helpxers to use in their free time. We do eat some meat(usually wild or organic), as well as vegetarian meals and I can cater for special dietary needs if given sufficient notice.

We both have plenty of country and garden knowledge and skills to share; due to poor local public transport I am willing to collect helpers from our nearest train station(Haywards Heath or Horsham) or bus stop by prior arrangement.

This is a beautiful area of the High Weald with lovely woodland walks and cycle routes - we can loan Helpxers a local map to guide them around the area.

Accommodation will be in our spare bedroom with use of all facilities, living 'as family'; although my husband smokes and we're happy to host smokers, there is a 'No smoking' rule inside the house.

You will need to bring suitable clothes & footwear (eg wellington boots or walking boots) for outdoor work. Due to a number of time wasters, I will only respond to enquiries that have both my christian name & my husbands in the first line, which ensures that you have read my profile & references.

PLEASE NOTE that local public transport is poor and the nearest shops are 6km; nearest town and station (Haywards Heath or Horsham) is 10-12 km, though we usually drive into town once a week.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use