help exchange   Host 10927
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mullumbimby
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10927
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 10, 2017

Please read the listing in full before applying - and please apply by message/email so we can see your profile before making any commitments. (Just as you've had the chance to see ours.)

If you have construction experience, we can probably offer some extra paid work at present. That's our immediate priority as Chris needs help on a small house he's building closer to Mullumbimby. We also particularly welcome those with painting, landscaping or gardening experience.

We are a family of 3: Chris, Heather and Nim (age 14). We have travelled widely and now live on 8 hectares adjoining Mt Jerusalem National Park about 8km from Mullumbimby.

We treat our helpers as we would like to be treated and remain in touch with quite a few of them. A big factor for us how well we think you will fit with our family. We are looking for self motivated, practical people who can grasp what needs doing and work carefully with attention to detail without close supervision - and we enjoy the company of those who have a few stories to share. We usually only take one couple per month, so if interested in coming to help us please let us know something about your background, your interests, your skills, what you would bring to our family. We like to plan in advance so if the listing interests you but you won't be here for a while, please get in touch.

There is some lovely walking from the property itself so if you like the bush and nature you'll love it here. We have all kinds of wild-life and if lucky you will see wallabies, potteroos, echidnas or koalas - but all are wild and shy. It is a bush property so if you have a phobia about (as distinct from a sensible respect for) snakes, spiders and insects, it won't suit you. If being close to town and social action is a priority, it might not suit you so well unless you have your own transport - though we are not far from Byron Bay and Brunswick Heads and are happy to help facilitate you spending time there (but that doesn't include late night driving to collect you after pub and bands).

The ongoing work required here is general property maintenance, bush regeneration and there's always work to do in the garden - weeding and mulching. We are also progressivly painting the interior of our house so if any helper has house painting experience - we'd love to have you.

We're always interested to know if you have particular skills we might plan to use. If you are not particularly handy with tools, painting etc it helps if you know, or are confident you can learn, the difference between a weed and a useful plant, or if you absolutely love to do housework.

Accomodation is a studio bed-sit with Queen bed. There is wifi in the room. You will share a bathroom in the main house with Nim. (Sometimes our "Airstream" guest suite is vacant and you get to stay there instead.)

Meals: We suggest you help yourself for breakfast and lunch (we will buy what you like to eat within reason) and then dinner is with us - mainly vegetarian.

Our expectation is 4 to 5 solid hours work a day (including one of either the day you arrive or the day you leave) plus a bit of general assistance with meal preparation and clean up. We are always delighted when helpers enjoy cooking and want to make a meal for us all while here - but that's not the work we need done and we are equally happy to cook for you.

At the end of your stay we will also ask that you clean your own room and the bathroom you have been using. (Cleaning up after yourselves so the place is ready for the next guests is not counted in work hours.)

We are happy for the work hours to average out over your stay and many of our helpers choose to work 2 full days and take the third day off completely - that suits us well and gives them a better chance to enjoy this lovely area. If you prefer to work daily, we find it usually works best if you work in the morning and are then free to go off and do your own thing.

We will supply work gloves and painting clothes and we have a lovely guitar if you like to play.- but please have closed shoes and we also recommend long pants and sleeves for garden work. A hat for the sun is also a good idea.

Please also tell us the dates you want to come so we know whether we will have space. (Yes it sounds obvious but some people don't!) Generally I would say we agree 1 week to see how it goes and if it works for all of us, we can agree to extend.

NB: NON-SMOKERS ONLY and no illegal drugs. (Even if you are really respectful smokers, and don't smoke inside or around us, we just don't like the smell that clings to you.) Also, we prefer that if you like to play video games you do so in your room and not in the main house living areas (but if you are a really avid gamer we probably are not the right hosts for you).

Sorry but we can't sign for 2nd year visas.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use