help exchange   Host 10936
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kingsbridge
All Year: all year
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 10936
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2019

We, my daughter and I, are building a timber frame house in 'Wikihouse.cc' system from scratch on a 1 acre paddock/orchard in Kingsbridge, South Devon Coast, South West England from Mach 2020.

Wikihouse is an open source building system where ALL components are made of standard plywood sheets which are cut by laser machines to minimise wastage. Delivered as flatpack and assembled on site minimised carbon footprint as well as the reduced foundation due to less weight of the structure. Just check the website. We will build as ecological with sustainable ,materials AS POSSIBLE. Sustainable insulation, cork floors, solar panels etc.

Within the house, I am building a traditional ground oven. If you have ANY experience of this I really would love to hear from you!
I will be living in my yurts and studio shed on sight with Daughter Eda as project manager and project blogger.

When finished this will be an eco house to be used as small commune with 4 bedrooms, 2 yurts and outpaces in a lovely location close to South Devon's best surf beach, coast line and moorland , Dartmoor. Kingsbridge is 30 min busied away from Totnes, Devon's spiritual and ecological hub, with Dartington's ecological and spiritual college at its heart.

We are aiming to have 6 people each week helping (these will be hopefully through courses offered over the college and university to architects and engineers and self-builders who want to learn the system), and a crew of volunteers to manage those groups and make it all run smoothly. We also need two people who will be solely there, to cater for everyone with a great vegetarian meals.

Please contact me if you want to register interest to work with us over the summer, living in tents on sight, and particular if you have experience in timber frame, as carpenter, builder, plumber, electrician, engineering and project management. For some qualified work I can discuss payment.

Accommodation will be in your own tent or our Bell tent or yurt on site with basic amenities and access to the local leisure centre. If you are in a van we can make that work. From March onwards we need a pre crew popping the site for the main build while the foundations are going in (by professionals) but there will be work in site clearing, strumming, building up a poly tunnel, digger driving, log cabin building and brick work for the retaining wall. Have you got a driving licence we can utilise? great!

We are currently waiting for planning permission, so please bear with us for confirmation of your place and communicate with us clearly:
1. What your skills are and where from you have go your experiences
2. What time frame and dates you are interested in
3. If we or you can provide tent

I did a similar project when I built my yurts and it was a great experience.We think its gonna be a great summer with an exiting group of interesting people at a great location learning future technology and enjoying fab food and atmosphere together! I can't wait.

Sorry we will not be able to have children under 16 on site at all and though we will have insurance you need to provide proof of sickness insurance as you are a volunteer not an employee.

Main language of course will be English and we can help people learn if they want support with that. Otherwise we can speak German, French, Swedish and some Spanish so far.

Just note: I am more busy on CS, as I have lived at other communes throughout the UK since 2014. The references below are from my small holding and yurt retreat in Cornwall and my connection to Millbarn.net (host here) in Preston between 2017-19.

If you want to be part of this get in touch so we can plan ahead.
Eda and Imke

reviews (3)
Helper: Lucia and Almudena Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: September 18, 2018
The experience we lived there was much better than the high expectations we h... view complete review

Helper: Roberta Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: June 10, 2018
This was definitely one of the most positive experience overseas. I have been... view complete review

Helper: Paul King Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: May 23, 2012
A big thank you to Imke and her family for hosting me for two months at Cornw... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use