help exchange   Host 10964
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Heriot Bay, Quadra Island
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 10964
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 3, 2017

Our 12 acre (4 hectare) property overlooks the Salish Sea and the Coast Mountains. Our tiered gardens of flowers, herbs, and vegetables, are nestled in the bluffs. We are developing a berry and fruit garden, putting up more deer fencing, building a greenhouse, and landscaping and path developing with the natural vegetation: ferns, salal, ocean spray, huckleberry, wild current and elderberry in addition to rhodos and other perennial bushes. Accommodations consist of a private basement suite that includes one queen size bed, an en suite with shower, private entrance and a ocean mountain view. Check out our website. We are a 5 minute walk to a swimming beach. We encourage wwoofers to take advantage of local kayaking, hiking, fishing, and biking opportunities on days off. Chores include gardening, brush clearing and pruning, rock wall and fence building, and chopping/stacking firewood. We offer shared meals and use of kitchen. Our volunteers usually work outside for 4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and help with dinner prep or cleanup everyday. We can accept a couple or a single person at one time. Volunteers are welcome year round. We are currently working on building new raised gardens and making cedar shakes for replacing part of our roof. No smokers/drugs.
We are currently looking for helpers for May, June, and September.

reviews (5)
Helper: Page Tolmaci Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: August 5, 2019
I stayed with Emily and Roy in the Spring of 2019, my travel plans only allow... view complete review

Helper: Samuel and Hanna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 22, 2017
We spent just 2 weeks by Emily and Roy and it was great! Funny and varied wor... view complete review

Helper: Angelique and Baptiste Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 8, 2015
We stayed 2 weeks with Roy and Emily there is 2 years ago. The work was reall... view complete review

Helper: Conor and Michelle Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: July 25, 2013
We did a 2-week exchange with Roy and Emily in June, helping out for approx. ... view complete review

Helper: Ivana Jurcikova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: June 12, 2011
I stayed with Emily and Roy for 3 weeks, but most of the time I was housesitt... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use