help exchange   Host 11027
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): half
Persons: four
Category: Other
Host ID: 11027
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 14, 2017

We are a little bike shop in a little town with a big vegetable garden, some dilapidated grape vines and more! We are a half hour bike ride to the beach (Sandbanks Provincial Park) and smack dab in the middle of a tiny, "cute" summer tourist town. Volunteers are welcome from May 15th through September 15th.

Check out our website before you decide to visit us. That's our shop. Volunteers work in the half acre of land that we have right behind the bike shop, between the pond and the barn.

... a little about how we work the whole volunteer thing here. Folks work five hours a day, five days a week. In exchange they receive room and board. Once your volunteer requirements are filled you are welcome to involve yourself as little or as much as you like in the culture of the bike shop. Join in on bike rides (we'll hook you up with bikes to ride, too!) work on your own bike, hang out in your own space, check out the locality, whatever. This position is only suitable for adults.

We are 7km from Picton (the nearest bigger town and laundromat) and 12km from Sandbanks Provincial Park. Two hours east of Toronto, Three hours west of Montreal.

You'll be staying in a large barn (very open concept, but fun and funky!) with a nice kitchen and we just bought a new water heater too! There's public access internet set-up at the back of the barn with wifi and movie watching and music listening abilities. We have bedding and mosquito nets for each bed, and there are definitely MOSQUITOES!!

Remember, we are N O T a farm. We are a BIKE SHOP with a big nutra-farmed, perma-culture oft-neglected and overgrown garden that always needs something done. We need GARDEN help, mostly, with little bits of bike shop help. We are looking for folks who are willing to stay for at LEAST two weeks.

reviews (1)
Helper: Samuel and Eva Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: July 16, 2012
We were here for 20 days and it was a wonderful time to us. Kate and Rick we... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use