help exchange   Host 11149
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sydney
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2500 sq metres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 11149
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2019

First, before you read further - I only take Non-smokers (meaning you do not smoke at all - not that you smoke outside). If I find that you do smoke you will be asked to leave - I (and my children when they are here) are all asthmatics.

Although I can do vegetarian (you will have to excuse us eating meat), I don't do vegan. If you don't mention to me that you are vegetarian before you arrive you will need to eat what is put in front of you

If you fulfill these criteria please read on.

Being a helper means doing any job (within reason) that your host asks of you so if there is something that you can't do - ie, bad back, then it would be good to tell me first so I can think of jobs that might suit you better.

I am in need of people who are happy to weed and do odd jobs inside and outside the house, including help with the computer. The work is not hard but I do like people who just get in and do it rather than people who take as much time as they can to do one small job. You will also be required to help clean the kitchen after our evening meal. All food is supplied and you can take a sandwich with you on your days off.

I try to be as eco friendly as possible ie, low water use, electricity, composting etc.

I live in the suburbs of Sydney about 1/2 hour by suburban train from the center of the city and about 10 minutes walk from the station. Trains go into the city every 15 minutes.

My children are now all working. None currently living at home but one is here one or 2 nights a week.

I take helpers for 1 week only. I will ask you to work 3.5 days over the week and give you the other days off to enjoy the sights of Sydney. Your working day is 8.30 - 5.30. Before you arrive I will tell you which days I will need you to work so you can look at information on Sydney, particularly if the day after you arrive is a day off. I have lots of tourist information here. Your work days depend on what is happening here at the time. The days I have asked you to work may need to change occasionally. When we talk about days I am happy for you to have a say in this if you are trying to sell a car, buy one or have an appointment. If I am allowing you time off to do these things, you will need to repay that time to me.

You may be required to work on a Sunday if that is a good day for me although I do try to give helpers that day off as travel with an opal card all over the entire Sydney network on a Sunday will only cost you $2.70 all day - on all modes of transport. This includes travel up to Newcastle, down to Wollongong and west to Katoomba (Blue Mountains). As Sunday is a good day for me to have you working if you are going to sit around the house on that day and not go out and make use of this very cheap fare then I will ask you to work that day and give you another day off.

We are a shoe free household - this includes thongs (flip flops). If you need house shoes I can lend you some clean ones.

Chinese helpers - you need to think about your luggage. A lot of helpers are bringing 40 kg of luggage. You need to be able to carry all your luggage all by yourself. You will need to carry your luggage over my wooden floors - sometimes up and down stairs. Also, airline flights have restrictions on luggage - normally 23 kg - some less. If you have 2 bags you will need to pay for both separately. There are also restrictions on the weight that baggage handlers are allowed to lift (30 kg). Some airlines are now making you weigh your hand baggage at the gate in case you have added things to your hand luggage after check in. Most people who bring 40kg regret it as they have to carry it around with them - you can't always rely on wheels. Most find a friend to leave their luggage with and travel with as little as possible.

Please ensure that you give me the dates you would like to come in the first line of your request.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use