help exchange   Host 11423
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Medusa
All Year: June through September
Area (ha): 5.6
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 11423
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 17, 2019

Openings for 2019 start June and go through the summer and perhaps into fall!

We live on beautiful land on top of a hill with great views.

What I am most looking for is help care-taking the house (cooking and cleaning) and land (mowing), as well as rides for my son and me in my car. This means independent workers with an eye for neatness to bring the grounds and home to order and maintain that order. Some tend to prefer indoor or outdoor work, and that is fine. Simply let me know where your passions lie.

In addition to basic house maintenance it is always lovely to meet up with people passionate about natural building as we flesh out and remodel the house:

This summer's projects will focus on:
* finishing putting up the cedar shingle siding on the addition
* finishing framing out the interior of the addition for a few walls and for the kitchen and bathroom cabinetry
* building a more luxurious composting toilet setup inside
* framing out the wall for the soon-to-be closed-in side porch, to be ready for windows and doors and cedar shingles
* starting the interior lathe-work to be ready for insulation and then earthen plaster

Outside, I welcome people, experienced or not, passionate about permaculture style gardening. This summer the focus will be on:

* grooming the acre that is being "landscaped" with mowing and pruning and tending to early plantings
* reclaiming the abandoned gardens by cleaning out unwanted plants, making space for those wanted, and laying down a summer, then winter, cover crop, after spreading this year's compost to enrich the soil
* dividing and transplanting some prolific plants, and planting out those who have overwintered in pots, ready for a new home
* planting and caring for annual garden starts for this year's food
* starting seeds in flats to be ready for next year's plantings
* sorting through construction treasures and debris - mostly in the shed that will soon be a working studio - to clean away excess and make a neat home for those things to keep for now
* sprucing up the outdoor compost bins to be more sturdy

Now IF you have experience with any of the following and feel up to taking on the project yourself you would also be very welcome!:

* repairing our inipi/earthen sauna
* cob hot tub
* outdoor solar heated shower
* food arbors
* greenhouse
* outdoor wood-fired oven and/or stove top
* earthen plaster

As an herbalist too I welcome help with harvests, on the land and in the nearby hills and valleys. No experience is necessary - I love to teach plants!!

Our property has a beautiful spring fed pond for swimming and fishing, fruit trees and herb and veggie gardens. The house is in process, but cozy and welcoming. We heat with a woodstove, cook with propane, draw water from a spring fed well, and have an indoor composting toilet. We have an earthen sauna.

I am an herbalist, gardener, mother, and woman passionate about enjoying life and being present. Since I am currently working on nourishing my own health, I welcome help around the house and gardens and am thrilled to share our space, great food, and my knowledge in return.

If I could say one goal of life here it would be to live luxuriously and simply at the same time -- Luxury in the form of great friends, good nourishing foods, warmth, fresh air, lots of sunlight, and sparkling water. Simple in our intimate relationship with the resources we use for food, water, bathing, cooking, heating, etc.

There is room for one or two people in the house, with simple partitions for privacy - three if for a short time or if two are staying in the same space. If someone comes with their own rv they could bring a partner or even a family. As soon as the studio is fully made out there will be room for several people there. And of course there is lots of room on the land for those who prefer to camp out, and share the common areas of the house during the day.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use